Value Investing-A Beginners Guide To Fool-Proof Investing

8 25
Avatar for viczwa
Written by
3 years ago

I'm beginning a series on a topic called value investing

What is value investing?

Simply put, it is the buying of stocks/securities that appear to be undervalued.

When we say undervalued what do we mean? What's the standard?

In short, there are evaluation methods of valuing a stock that are used as a measurement tool when looking at the price of a stock on the market compared to it's value in the company. However there's a lot I've just said which I know is confusing so I will start right from the basics of commerce.

Background

A couple of years ago when I got hold of the principles applied in value investing I began buying stocks in though my local stock exchange the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange. Through these strategies I have made consistent returns and have yet to make a loss. I'm here to show everyone how.

The beginning- What is a stock?

A stock is simply a share/part of a company which one owns by purchasing a portion of the company.

Once you own shares you are said to be a shareholder because you share in the profits of the company.

Why, when and how do companies sell shares?

Most companies begun small, owned by a single person who puts money into the business. The money put into the business is called capital. Such an individual is called a sole trader meaning this person takes all the risks of running their business on their own and as a result bear alone the burden of loss (if and when there are losses) and win all the profits alone (if and when there are profits)

The individual may find the business growing to a level that requires more than they are able to feed into their business or may find a need to inject more capital than is available to them. In such a case they may solicit the help of other individuals To inject money into the company with the promise of sharing in the profits according to agreements they will make, the most common being proportional sharing meaning if 2 partners each put 50% of the total capital they share profits the same way. Each partner is said to be a shareholder. Such a company is called a Private Limited company. Commonly you see it written following a company name as Pvt Ltd.

Features of a Private Limited Company

1) A Private Limited Company is one formed with a certificate of incorporation as spelled out by a relevant company licensing body.

2) Commonly such a company can have up to 50 shareholders

3) As the selection of partners is limited by number and by the shareholder(s) discretion the company is private.

4) As the company is legally incorporated it stands as a legal entity separate from an individual an therefore all losses are limited to the company and each shareholder is not personally responsible for the company's liabilities.

Use Case

Let's say Jack and John start a company each having put US$1000 such that the total company is worth $2000. Assuming everything they buy and own as company assets came from the $2000 then the company is valued at $2000 we could say Jack owns a 50% share of the company valued at $1000. That would be the book (what would be written in the books) value of his share. This of course is an over simplification of what book value actually is but for the purpose of this article we will restrict ourselves to this use case. In articles to follow we will build on our definition of book value.

Book value is the centre of valuing a company and automatically a share. This is where we begin to evaluate a stock and from this baseline begin talking about the value of a stock (whether it is fairly, over or under valued)

In the next article we will talk about public companies and the purchase of shares on the stock exchange

Keep engaged as I take you on a journey of discovery and enlightenment. The principles I will talk about can be applied to a number of investing disciplines besides stocks

Signing out

Victor

4
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of viczwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for viczwa
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Very important for those who want to do share business...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. My goal is to get as many people as possible to read the series of articles I want to write. Investing is so simple but most people wouldn't know where to start particularly which shares to pick and to find a good strategy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes people need that knowledge to invest in right projects..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True true. The secrets of the rich are ours to grab

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very interesting topic, I really hope to read your next article about it. Recently I have become little by little interested in this topic. Not that I can invest anything yet of course, but maybe at some point I could. Although I do not know if from my country I can do it because generally you must be a citizen of the country of the investment system

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true but there are ways of doing it using crypto. I know a couple of ways.

Also you'll really enjoy my next article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For now I only put a small investment in a crypto management system called Trust Investing. so far I'm doing well and I've made a profit I was watching some Fidelity tutorials a few days ago but then I realized that it was only for Americans, hehe fatality, hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lolest. I'm glad you've made inroads into investing. We have to keep making money and find our own way to break out into financial freedom

$ 0.00
3 years ago