To Be In Total Control Of My Life

2 21
Avatar for vevo
Written by
3 years ago

When I gained admission into the Kwara state polytechnic to study architectural technology, I wasn't ecstatic because I never bargained for it; and I was still hoping to be chosen by Unilorin to study agriculture. The real deal is I never wanted to be a science student, but I had to because I wanted to stand out of my father's ten children because I wanted dad’s love, care and attention.

Eventually, I went for architectural technology because my dad insisted, I never liked the course, but I still wanted to make my dad happy and to my surprise I was able to cope so I thought it would work out, but it didn't because I wasn't happy and I had no passion for it. I cried every night, but the silent tears went unseen, I was depressed and was drained emotionally until those that knew the true definition of inner happiness encouraged me to follow my heart and not allow anybody make decisions for me anymore.

I started attending the tutorial center I attended when I sat for my first jamb as a science student in 2016 and yes, I was told not to be ashamed because I'm an OND holder but who cares?

That day, I cried when I got home because I had to see faces of my juniors from secondary school and one of the teachers indirectly used me as an example of those that gain admission but misuse the opportunity; he indirectly said I failed the course, hence, my decision to be an arts student

The taunt stopped when the final result came out and my CGPA was 3.02 out of 4 points. There and then, they got to know I didn't fail the course. Do you know why I didn't give up despite not having passion for the course? It was because I never wanted my excuse to be "I didn't do well because I didn't like the course". I carried on with my mission without shame, I started reading because I had WAEC, JAMB and POST-JAMB on my neck.

I faced some financial challenges and a point, I had to stop attending lesson just so I could work to get money for registration and lesson fee; my mum would have helped but she had my other 3 siblings to cater for; my dad knew nothing about this decision; and going to my family member(s) to beg for money meant my dream would never become a reality. Luckily, having collected my salary, some Samaritans helped me and I was able to keep a slot for my WAEC. I stopped working after a month and resumed to lesson fully because I was lagging behind.

Despite all odds, I cleared my WAEC in one sitting; with over 260 in jamb and over 70% in post-jamb; I became the first of my father's children to gain admission into a university. Just when I thought my situation was helpless, the biggest decision I have ever made, prevented my future from being shattered.

Now, I am happy with the course I'm currently studying because I didn't give up and I now know what it means to be happy on the inside. It's not about the happiness of those you try to please, it's your happiness too. I already gained my dad's love, care and attention just by securing admission into Unilorin, but I realized that it's not easy for parents to love their children equally and that’s just fine.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for vevo
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

why were you attending tutorial centre, what does it mean?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here in Nigeria, A Tutorial Centre is a special term for private educational institutions which offer tuition in various subjects and preparation for specific tests ...it is a preparatory class ahead of an upcoming exams.

$ 0.00
3 years ago