What causes one to stop dreaming?

1 15
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

This is a profound question, and I have no claims to be an expert. I am just sharing my thoughts.

What is a dream?

A dream is more than a wish. It is something we yearn for and something that would bring a feeling of fulfilment if it comes true. Then how come somebody would give up their dream? Worse,

How can someone stop dreaming altogether?

This is an alarming sign that such a person is going through deep struggles. They might be questioning who they are, feeling like they lost their identity, and even pondering whether it is worth living anymore.

Impossibility

Some dreams are impossible to achieve. “Never say never” is actually true at times, such as death.

Should we all forget about dreams?

No! Dreams are what makes life meaningful and worth living.

“Stop Dreaming” — an abstract digital artwork that I generated using the AI in the Wombo Dream app.

I was digging deeper into the matter in some of my recent posts.

One problem with our busy lifestyle is that society expects us to run 150% at all times and praises us when we do so.

I know it is simple to say to just take a break, and everything will be fine. No. Maybe I am still at a very early phase of my recovery, but I believe that I would not be where I am professionally and personally had I chosen to take a break. Doors opened before me that would have remained locked had I decided to take my breath. Maybe others would have opened, and I would perhaps be still satisfied with myself.

▶ The painful grip of mental health problems

We need to listen to our bodies. When they firmly say it is time for a break, we just have to respect that wish. There is nothing to be ashamed of, and without a break, performance in every aspect will suffer.

Mental exhaustion is feeling drained of all energy, and as it proceeds, motivation starts declining rapidly, as well. This problem is typically a result of stress or long-term overload. It can make even simple tasks feel impossible and leaves people feeling foggy, forgetful, and emotionally unstable. In severe cases, it can lead to clinical depression or anxiety disorders.

▶ How mental exhaustion can waste your life

It is neither selfish nor shameful to take care of yourself. In fact, it should be admired.

If someone is telling you what to do all the time or they are limiting your freedom in some way, it is hard to enjoy life. It might also make you feel like you’re not good enough, and often times if you happen to be presented with an opportunity to choose for yourself, you are indecisive and nervous about expressing your opinion.

▶ Taking Control of Your Destiny: Overcoming External Obstacles in Life

This article is reposted on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

You can find me on

| Medium | Simily | read.cash | noise.cash | Publish0x | Steemit | Hive |
| Instagram | Twitter |

Check out more of my artworks in my community on Ko-Fi.

https://ko-fi.com/neurodivergent_ai

2
$ 0.26
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments