Supportive words or demands for perfectionism?

0 25
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

A bullseye hit is a piece of cake… right? (Photo by icon0.com from Pexels)

There is a fine line between being encouraged in a supportive manner and consistently hearing others’ expectations of you. Sometimes friends or loved ones believe that they help by saying that you have always done great; of course, the next challenge or exam will go fine. You are skilled and smart. You always get it right. They do not always realise that we all have moments of weakness. We are not always in our top shape. We sometimes need a break. And more importantly, we are not machines. We cannot perform perfectly every time. We put in lots and lots of effort to make it appear as if anything we touch happens by magic. That often creates the feeling that if we underperform, then we will betray them. It feels as if we are not permitted to make mistakes.

What if I fail?

What if this time I do not manage to do equally well as in the past?

What if it was just a coincidence that I managed the previous times?

What if I was simply lucky while actually being mediocre at best?

I am worthless, and I will betray them.

I am not worthy of love.

I am absolutely nothing.

2
$ 0.68
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments