Improving your mental health when you are feeling stuck

4 35
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Take your time and explore yourself

Feeling trapped and stuck is a common state in the stressful world we live in. (Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash)

A week ago, I decided to start blogging about topics that interest me and such that have been affecting me. Without pouring my heart and soul and consciously or unconsciously asking for pity, I tried summarising my observations.

For starters, answer three simple questions.

· What is the best thing you want in life?

· You are not really stuck; there is something else

· Cognitive overload, overwhelm, and burnout

Everybody wishes for something. Even if you are so confused that you have no idea how to reply, you still have some dreams. If you are reading this story, then you probably want to get at least unstuck. That is a beginning. You will not magically come to realise your life purpose at this very moment. And you do not need to!

Ask yourself, what is it that makes you feel stuck? Work, relationships, some other limitations? All of the above? Are you being controlled by a relative/loved one/colleague? Are you bullied, but no alternative relocation to a new city or a new job has been possible so far? Being stuck is internal unrest, a clear sign that your wishes and obligations do not match.

Are you drained at work or because of many consecutive negative experiences beyond your control? Sometimes there is little to do about those situations, but it is critical that at such moments you first identify your struggle on time, and second, you give yourself the chance to rest and take a breath. I know the feeling of “oh, but it will just pass, just one more thing to push through, and I will rest” … No. This is a recipe for disaster. You will burn out and break down.

No tunnel is infinitely long. Eventually, there is a way out. (Photo: Pixabay)

What next?

· Create a vision

· Look for a change

· Detach from unrealistic expectations

I made the mistake of pushing too hard for too long. Of course, I broke down. Recovery is slow, though I have been focusing on finding out the causes of my problems. Then I started thinking about what would make me truly happy in life. What do I need to achieve in order to feel satisfied with myself? I am a fortunate person. And this time luck was on my side again. I decided to do art to distract myself from the root of my problems. It felt good, and my mind was focused entirely on something enjoyable that was producing results. I started feeling good. I started sharing my art online. Then I found the inspiration to write and share what I have found out. I found a future direction, something to look forward to. It is very different from my day job. Yet, it is empowering, and I started feeling alive again. I see myself pushing towards my dream. Consistency is what will take me there.

If you feel stuck, free yourself. You deserve it.

“Feeling Stuck” — an abstract digital artwork that I generated using the AI in the Wombo Dream app.

This article is reposted on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

You can find me on

| Medium | Simily | read.cash | noise.cash | Publish0x | Steemit | Hive |
| Instagram | Twitter |

Check out more of my artworks in my community on Ko-Fi.

https://ko-fi.com/neurodivergent_ai

4
$ 3.28
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jelena
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I am stuck in my father's death and I find it very difficult to continue living even though I have children and they should be my motivation. I took a look at your artworks, I'm delighted. Very nice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's great that your children are keeping your spirit high but they are not a substitute. Take your time to mourn without punishing yourself. Thank you for the kind words!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems so motivating but it's hard to execute all things

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Undoubtedly. Fixing yourself is a year-long process. Nothing happens overnight or in the matter of several days. Often there are setbacks. Sudden surprises and unexpected misfortunes, then you're back to step 1.

$ 0.00
1 year ago