Getting By With Chronic Illnesses

0 24
Avatar for ukheather
3 years ago

I have numerous chronic illnesses such as chronic pain, chronic fatigue and many others. The chronic pain and chronic fatigue are severe and I am on the strongest painkillers for the pain and the chronic fatigue (CFS) is untreatable.
I can't walk far and can't stand more than a few minutes. I have to lay down a lot during the day and sleep frequently during the day.

I am unable to work and need 11 hours sleep and am still exhausted. I randomly fall asleep during the day as I am so extremely tired.

My pain is horrific and without the strongest painkillers available, I was bedbound and would scream day and night, unable to sleep. I still have extreme pain but I am able to sit downstairs for some of the day.
The painkillers and medication make my fatigue MUCH worse, but I can't cope without them as the pain is the worse imaginable. It is like I am being beaten with a hammer or run over continuously. Extreme pain.

I am housebound and can't work as my conditions are extreme. I can't type for long nor do things like crafts, filling in surveys or read due to the extreme pain and fatigue I suffer. Even just moving my arms a little makes the pain and fatigue much worse.
I sleep numerous times a day as I often nod off or go to bed to sleep as I get so fatigued and sleepy and the pain gets so bad I just have to lay down many times a day.

I live on £300 a month (around $408 dollars at time of writing), which isn't enough to live on. I can't afford rent anywhere so I am lucky someone lets me live there for minimal costs or I would be homeless.
I have around 60p a day for food at the most, so I can't eat much so am hungry a lot of the time.
I can't get the main disability benefit due to the fact I hadn't paid enough national insurance which you pay from working full time/long hours. I was working full time and then I couldn't do that anymore, but I wanted to keep working rather than claim benefits, so I went onto part time and then when I couldn't do that anymore, I went onto casual work before being unable to work at all.
Due to that, I can't get the disability benefit that would give me more money, so instead I don't get enough to live on.
I have no family alive, so no one to help.

I often go without food if I can't get a grocery delivery slot as I can't go out myself and during the covid pandemic, I can't get anyone to pick things up for me due to them being very high risk.

Every day is like ground hog day as I don't do anything different. The same 4 walls 24/7, 365 days a year is very depressing.
Due to my health being so bad, I can't do the things you might do to kill time such as crafts, reading, writing etc. Even typing for a few mins causes my pain and fatigue to worsen and get unbearable.
If I have to go to a hospital appointment, I will take weeks to recover from one outing.

I try streaming games on Twitch to possibly earn some money and chat to people as I never see anyone or talk to anyone, for a few hours a week as I can't do anymore than that as I have to have at least 36 minimum hours to recover from one single stream as it causes my pain to be horrific and I get incredibly exhausted.
I have to use a controller as I can't use a keyboard due to my pain to have minimal movement, but that still causes me a great deal of pain and exhaustion.
I don't earn pretty much anything right now and I put a lot of effort into it, but I just can't get the viewers or the subs/donations. Of course I don't expect anyone to donate and appreciate anyone dropping by, but when you can't afford to get by, I really would like to earn from it, especially as it is one of the only things I could do to earn money.

Getting by is incredibly hard when you physically can't do much at all and have no money and barely any income.
Life becomes very hard when you can't buy things to kill time or help boredom and are unable to go out.

Sponsors of ukheather
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.53
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ukheather
3 years ago

Comments