Gift Jam 2020 Game Log #0 (My project6)

0 27
Avatar for tyler775
3 years ago

I am working on a game for a game jam. Said jam is already accepting submissions and will stay open until January 6th 2021 at 5:59 PM. I plan to spend less than 6 hours working on the game and start off making it a small playable game and 'gift' that I can expand into a larger game. Currently, I just call the game 'My project6'.

The game has three green crosses for the person's health.

Green Health Symbol

You lose health by touching hazards such as the green 'viruses' in the game world:

Virus enemy

You grab a backpack to gain the ability to collect other objects.

Backpack Item

In this platformer, you can go through certain doors, but others require items or 'keys' to open:

'Open' Door
'Closed' Door

The controls are pretty simple. Use the arrow keys to move (left to move left, up key to jump, etc.) and press 'E' with the backpack to grab/equip items. I have also made a simple game over sprite for when you run out of health:

Game Over Sprite

I also started working on a basic button on the Title Screen that takes you to the main game"

Play Button when untouched by cursor
Play Button when touched by cursor

Currently, one possible working title I have is 'Ounce of Prevention':

This is hour 1 for the game. Stay tuned!

1
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of tyler775
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tyler775
3 years ago

Comments