4 open source secure android keyboard recommendations

3 35
Avatar for turuncu
2 years ago

Hello everyone,

I have been searching for a reliable and functional android keyboard for a few days. You ask why? Because all keyboards that come by default collect and process our personal data. Although this is insignificant for many of you, it is very important that our personal data is not used without our knowledge, even if we are not aware of it.

Hackers' view: "Information should be accessible. Nothing should be hidden." Not that much.

How secure would it be if our credentials, bank account passwords, credit card information were publicly accessible?

So yes, we share our photos on Instagram. Of course, we also share sensitive metadata with our photos. (Location, device, date, time etc.) This information doesn't make any sense to me, but it can be very meaningful to a malicious person.

Anyway, I don't want to bore you with too many details. But you should know that there are those who skillfully do what we call impossible in daily life.

A hacker can identify your interests by examining your facebook profile. And it can send you a link that matches your area of interest. Moreover, he can even do this from a close friend's account. The moment you click the link, you open the door for it to enter your device.

Our data is really important. Our simple, unimportant log data is valuable to those who process that data for its intended use. There are incredibly talented hackers among big tech companies who say they're processing your data to serve you ads based on your interests. And we can't even imagine what they can actually do with our data.

There are countless examples in the world of how corrupt people with great power can become. History is full of them. Now google, Meta, twitter...

Anyway, this isn't a conspiracy theory. Use your intelligence. A giant tech company gives you loads of apps without asking you a cent. Do you think they got this rich just by advertisements?

You have developed a great app and you are not asking users to pay. But you make it mandatory for users to only allow you to process user data as a condition of using your application.

The question is: How do you make money?

Again, I went into too much detail. πŸ˜ƒ

We allow such a long usage policy and privacy policy as a condition of using an application that sometimes the loan terms we sign in banks seem more innocent to me.

Imagine they are bankers. The developers of the application are also extremely talented hackers. Now it has permissions and capabilities to watch you from your phone's front camera. They can also track what you're doing on your phone step-by-step.

Anyway, conspiracy theory or not, but it is a fact that we give them this authority by using those applications.

"What would the giant google company do if they knew my bank password?"

How should I know? I am not a hacker. πŸ˜ƒ

Anyway, best of all, an app that doesn't process my data makes me feel more secure. Friends who think like me can try the following applications. I do not have very detailed information about applications, but since they are open source applications, those who understand this business can examine the source codes of the applications.

1) Anysoft keyboard

In the privacy policy, it says that the information accessed by the application remains on our device. Since there is no internet access, the keyboard does not receive, share and process these applications without our knowledge.

Download link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.menny.android.anysoftkeyboard

Source Codes: https://github.com/AnySoftKeyboard/AnySoftKeyboard

Privacy Policy: http://anysoftkeyboard.github.io/privacy-policy/

2) SimpleKeyboard.

Again, an open source keyboard application.

Download link : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=rkr.simplekeyboard.inputmethod

Source Codes: https://github.com/rkkr/simple-keyboard

3) OpenBoard

Download Link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.dslul.openboard.inputmethod.latin

Source Codes: https://github.com/openboard-team/openboard

4) BeHe Keyboard

Download Link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vlath.keyboard

Source Codes: https://github.com/VladThodo/behe-keyboard

My intention is to always be a conscious user. I think Anysoft Keyboard is one of the best customizable keyboards. When I first installed it, I was skeptical when I saw the privacy terms article. But when I read the privacy policy, my doubts disappeared. But it wouldn't be nice if they changed their privacy policy without our knowledge. In other words, when the application spreads and becomes a widely used application, I hope it does not turn into an application that says "We process and share your personal data."

Anyway, there was such an article today. I may be wrong. There's no need to get hung up on conspiracy theories, but it's good to be a conscious user.

We don't know what closed source apps do. But we have the opportunity to examine the source code of open source applications.

If I want to share my personal data, I want to decide for myself what to share. For example, I might want to share a photo of me that turned out great on Instagram. (But I don't use Instagram, facebook, twitter, WhatsApp.😊)

But I don't want my ugly photo to be seen by someone on the other side of the world without even knowing it. This is probably the simplest explanation.

So if I only shared my location information with my friend, the whole world doesn't need to know where I am. (Especially thieves and hackers should never see it. 😁)

I don't even want to use an application that imposes pages of terms of use, privacy policy that I don't even understand what it means.

Friends who think like me can review the above applications. Actually, I liked OpenBoard Keyboard very much, but the letters ç,ı,â,ü,ğ,ş in my language only appear when you hold them down on the keyboard. This slows down the typing speed a lot. I hope 29 letters are integrated into the keyboard with the new update.

Don't get too hung up on what I wrote. These are my personal opinions. Not everyone has to agree. If you agree with me, you can comment and use the like button. If you are not, you can share your views with us with an article.

Otherwise, we do not have to comment, upvote or downvote anyone. We can support content we like. But we don't need to be trolls who downvote everything we don't like.

If you have a great idea, share it with others in an article so that we can learn from each other. There is no need for jealousy, hatred, anger, envy. Unfounded and empty information is forgotten over time. Rest assured, strong ideas always stay alive.

If you have a useful idea, put it into practice. You will witness that it has spread to the world over time. If you really want something, make an effort. Blaming other people's actions does not bring success to anyone.

If you have an idea that will be useful to the whole world, put it into action and work on it constantly and improve yourself and your idea.

Other people's mistakes, truths, successes, failures do not concern us. We are responsible for ourselves.

Do you know any better? Then bring them to life.

Being too busy with other people's thoughts and actions wastes our time. In the long run, it hinders our success. Because we can't find time to do our own actions because we waste time with the mistakes of others and we prevent our own success.

Write articles, share, create content. If you have time, you can comment on the content you like. So our priority is to be productive, not to compare what others produce.

I share my own opinions, but I don't expect everyone to agree with me. If you're aggressive about commenting, you'll likely be tagged as spam. Or at least other users you comment on will block you. If you feel like it, you can support a content that you like very much. Making negative comments and downvoting will not give you success here and in the world. We can achieve success by our own actions.

Love and greetings to all. I hope this content will be of use to you. I have installed all of these apps. I change it from time to time. I am currently writing this article with AnySoft Keyboard. I guess I need to turn on word prediction because I'm hitting the wrong key too often. :)) This is the case with almost all keyboards, not just this keyboard.

I guess the full screen mode is on and the keyboards stay down. Let's see if I can find a setting where I can type more accurately and faster.

Take care of yourselves. The article is finished. Dot. πŸ˜ƒ

5
$ 2.17
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MD_Tibro
$ 0.01 from @pajeroz
Avatar for turuncu
2 years ago

Comments

Well sir, whole time I thought the default keyboards are the trustworthy keboards. As I am using Samsung phone and I trust it's security. But should I be worried with the default keyboard of samsung?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I take a loan from the bank, I review the documents that I will sign. I think it is also important to read the contract we signed when we started a business. In this way, we learn the rules of the workplace where we work.

Knowing what we have signed and what terms we have accepted gives us a clearer view.

People are afraid of what they don't know. Knowledge reduces fear. But you have to be selective. You should read Samsung's device and app terms of use and what it does with personal data and make up your own mind.

I think it is necessary to read, understand and have knowledge.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay sir, I will try to read those long terms of use and try to ubderstand them then I will gain something I hope. Thanks for your beautiful words sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago