Setting Up SMART as a Content Creator

14 31
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

I am scrolling on my Facebook feed and saw an advertisement from a networker marketing friend that I have.

I have removed a majority of friends on Facebook back then when I did my yearly purge and for the reason that I always enjoy his memes, I decided to let him stay in my small circle.

When I attended their training session about networking I was presented with the SMART goals as somehow a key to achieving my goals back then. But as a lazy bum as I am I never took it seriously and just scribble some goals just for the sake of completing the form.

Now as someone who wants to take blogging seriously…. I think it is time for us to set some SMART goals.

Okay, TP you keep on saying SMART goals, I don’t know what it is! Care to enlighten this young virtuoso?

I got chu bru don’t cha worry.

SMART is an acronym for the following words.

  • S - Specific

  • M - easurable

  • A - chievable

  • R - elevant

  • T - ime Bound

Now since we explain what the acronym is then we are all set for the day and I hope that you learned something new. See you in my next blog!


It is important that we set goals when we are doing a project or anything that we want to be successful of. As the used and abused quotation from my good friend Lawrence J. Peter If you don’t know where you are going, you will probably end up somewhere else." Knowing what is your goal and taking action on it can help you become successful in the chosen field that you are aiming.

Am I successful already? In some areas, yes but in blogging, I still have a TON of things to learn and while I am learning I want you to learn too in my journey. Because that’s what friends are for right? For bad times and bad times we still stick to each other.

Now since we are planning let’s talk about each letter and elaborate it one by one.

S stands for Specific

When setting up a goal, it is important to give complete details on what you want to achieve as an end result. This is not the time to give examples that are broad such as my end goal is to become a famous blogger. Or maybe gain a ton of followers in my content etc.

I listed here as my goal this time at the very least earn $100.00 USD in my blog post this month and I also want to publish new content daily.

M is for Measurable

To know that you are improving or gaining traction toward your goal should be measurable. In my case, I want to earn $100.00 USD coming from my blog so to achieve my success if I will run a marathon of blog posts daily for the whole month I need to earn at least $3.33 daily. I also read that M could stand as “meaningful” like what does achieving this goal important to your goal. As for myself since on 1st of June, my daughter will celebrate her 1st birthday and since we don’t have any extra money to cover the preparation acquiring $100.00 in 30 days will be a fantastic thing for me as one way or another I put effort on achieving the goal.

A is for Achievable

Given the situation that you are in, the goal that you have set should be achievable on your side. Technically speaking $100.00 in 30 days can be achieved by some in less than a week or so but for me, I think I will need less than a month to get that amount given my previous earnings from the contents that I have created. Plus I was able to withdraw more than the said amount before.

Creating content daily is hard! But can be managed I was able to do that before but my buddy laziness always gives me the warmest hug that he can give each time that he has a chance. Do you experience that too? Like you are so fired into doing something but you get lazy and want to do other stuff?

R is for Relevance

You need to make sure that this does matter to you in the long run. Like why are you doing such and spending your precious time here? Why not watch an anime or a series on Netflix instead.

For example, since the goal of publishing daily content is written down it is relevant to other goals such as earning money and maybe in the future polishing my writing skills so that I can apply to some writing gigs in the next year and hopefully resign in my day job. Jeez, I want to leave the company already but I can’t the pay is lucrative and I don’t have any other means to earn for now.

T is for Time-Bound.

Until when are you going to push to achieve the goal? You need to set a deadline bru because if you don’t then you will be relaxed and will not take action on it.

I know you. You always have the tendency to cram few days before the deadline so lets stap dat owkei?

Now having said that and creating a small blueprint on what your possible smart goal is. You will have an idea on what to do next. So what are you waiting for if you haven’t created one then START NOW!

I am not angry okay, just want to emphasize that.

I think that is all on my side hope you enjoy this blog.

3
$ 0.81
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Laurenceuuu
Avatar for tpkidkai
1 year ago

Comments

Hey I didn't know that you're here! Welcome in the community. I am very familiar with the acronym SMART because it was taught to us when we were Grade 7 for our baby thesis😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha kakagawa ko lang ng account. Sobrang busy sa Hive lately and I want to take a breather kaya switch muna into a different platform.

Still nag cu curate parin me dun pero ngayon extending the horizon ang peg ko. More income streams for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also planning to be more productive in Hive by joining different events kaso masiyadong busy sa school kaya medyo inactive. Maganda din dito sa read.cash so enjoy your stay:)

Haha more side-hustle for us!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha skool muna bago ang lahat sympre.

Ou nako goods din naman talaga maging productive sa Hive - kaya GG dyan kung kakayanin ng powers to be active to both why not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Syempre haha.

Oo maganda nga but I admit minsan talaga nakaka discourage kapag kaunti lang din tips pero tinutuloy ko na din since madami namang offer na opportunity and hopefully lumaki na din sa mga susunod na publish haha. Diko pa din kasi alam kung paano kalakaran dun haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As you go along the way, lalaki din yan. Mas active ka naman sa akin kaya for sure you will be able to surpass it.

Publish lang daily dun at connect-connect din with others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sa advice! Kaya nga sumasali ako sa mga events para makilala din sa iba't ibang community.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama tama! Btw magkaroon ng contest ang Hiveph account not sure when ko ilaunch hahha katamad kasi gumawa ng infographic. sali ka pandagdag content din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saan ilalagay announcement? Discord or sa HivePH community sa Hive?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sa discord yun. Naka ready na ang lahat ako nalang ang hindi hahaha katamad pa talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha sige sige intayin ko din announcement. Yung phone ko kasi minsan di nalabas notif kahit di naka mute yung server

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing! I will take note on that SMART tips that you discussed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks buddy for sure it will help you in some way as creating plans without thinking it thoroughly is something that most of us are lacking of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed! Sometimes we set goals without proper steps on how to achieve them and only results to failure that's why it's important to have this SMART tips you said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago