Practicing the Art: Become Who You Want to Be.

12 28

First say to yourself what you would be; and then do what you have to do. - Epictetus

I am in love with learning the philosophy of Stoicism and little by little I started to incorporate it into my daily life. Yesterday, I did plan to create a post but some unforeseen factors happened. Electricity was cut due to the scheduled maintenance and the internet ran amok. I was informed that the service got restored at around 2 or 3 in the afternoon and I am already in deep slumber.

Photo by Zlaťáky.cz on Unsplash

Going back to the topic of the art of who you want to be, have you thought of it thoroughly?

I have always thought about it lately and one of the things that spring up into my mind is to become a polished writer. Not a spammy one but someone serious about making meaningful content for other people. Am I good enough? No I am not for sure! 

How can I become a polished writer then?

The answer is simple but I always tend to be lax and that is to read more and practice writing daily. Make it a habit wherein I will make sure that there’s something that I was able to write that fits the standard that I have set for myself. 

I remember back then when I was working for my previous employer. We handle accounting, sales tax, lien, and bond filling. 

I was having a hard time with such rules and conditions when I started and most of my colleagues are also in the same boat as I am. However, I decided that I wanted to become an expert in the field.

It was a pioneer account thus when it was migrated here in the Philippines very little information are cascaded to everyone. Most of the knowledge that we had acquired is from our U.S. counterparts who were back then in the process of resignation. 

I read and inquired to them. Also, I took the liberty of researching the emails that they are sending trying to understand what the statutes of limitations are and when the time comes for a promotion I was able to secure a spot as I become a pillar of the process. I’d recall amending the SOP’s ( Standard Operating Procedures)  in line with the updates that we receive from time to time. Now imagine if I didn’t say to myself that I would be an expert on the said process, will I be on that spot? 

Why it is important to say it to yourself? 

Because more often than not we tend to believe and accept what people say to us. 

I have often wondered how it is that every man loves himself more than all the rest of men, but yet sets less value on his own opinion of himself than on the opinion of others. - Marcus Aurelius.

Ever wondered how many dreams are shattered because no one believed in them? Or maybe you had the fair share of such goals but since no one encouraged you to do so you drop the ball and give up midway. 

We are in the same situation my friend. Prior to reading and trying to understand it more often than not I look for validation from other people. The validation that I am doing good and praise of what I have done. 

For sure praises are good but what happens next?

By saying who you want to be to yourself, you are making a covenant to the highest being in your life second to God which is YOU. Though there are times wherein such words are a longshot, well will it be much better to start slowly to get where you want to?

As Stoics have mentioned in their books multiple times. We cannot control everything, but if it is within our realms of command we need to do whatever it takes for us to achieve it.






7
$ 4.85
$ 4.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1

Comments

We must have a mindset on knowing who we wanna be, without thinking the what ifs and other things that will only make us feel worthless. It is a matter of knowing what and how you want to live your life, take a journey you want, and be the person you want to be.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

AMEN to that cherry! Sometimes it is hard lang talaga kaya we need constant reminders and daily affirmation from ourselves that we can do it.

AJA!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should be the first to believe in ourselves. Yes, there will be haters and nonbelievers in our every day. We should not focus on what they said, focus on our dreams!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hey Jiji thanks for dropping by!

Minsan talaga ang dami ng haters anu? Bakit kaya ganun sila di nalang mag support. Anyhow, yes tama ka dyan focus lang tayo sa goals.

Regards,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its about mindset, what we think is what we get. If you think so much negativities nothing good will happened to you. But if you think positively despite of the different problems you can lighten the situation and solve your problems eventually. What do you want to be? Set your mind on the your passion and live with it if you have the confidence and you believe in yourself everything is possible.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

what we think is what we get. If you think so much negativities nothing good will happened to you.

This is true CBS, CoinBitShac kinda' long. As mentioned with the books that I have read, it is a matter of perspective. How, do we see stuff presented at hand, do we see them as a problem or do we see them as a new opportunity for growth. Majority of us choose the first part as a default because we are trained to be more focused on the negative part in life but as we become more aware our perspective changes and somehow goals in life become much easier to achieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May I know san ka nagwowork? Nacurious tuloy ako 😅

Some would hesitate to set goals for themselves because they thought they aren't capable of achieving them..but what's the purpose of our life without setting something and things we want to attain? We can't just stay forever in a place we are used to..we need to move forward and level up..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

May I know san ka nagwowork? Nacurious tuloy ako 😅

Call centerist ako sa Manila, kaya lagi ako online pag gabi. Tho di na ako nag ko calls more on processing nalang ako ng account stuff sa back-end now.

We can't just stay forever in a place we are used to..we need to move forward and level up..

Tomo! Kailangan may level up di pwede same situation parin, we need to grow para sa ikakaunlad di lang natin kundi ng bansang Pilipinas. ( char lang sa second part! )

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So many times I observed that we only wish to become something but we don't take our time to learn what it takes to become that thing/person we wish for ourselves. So many times, we just don't want to do what it takes because we are lazy. Thank you, tpkidkai.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Heya SS!

I also observed that! Even I am guilty of that practice too! That is why little by little though at times I fall short I still try to do everything that I can within my means to improve and be next to what I want to become.

I hope you are too and the rest of us struggling here daily.

Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so true... if it is within our capabilities, we must do everything to attain it... I hope for your success sir!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same to you Junebride! I hope all the best with you, your husband and Matti. Keep grinding lang pag kaya natin laaaban lang!

$ 0.00
1 year ago