Life is Like a Race

24 75
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Life is like a race, I am tired of running. Since I was a child, there's this hurdles I must win. Study hard and get good grades. Finish your school and get a degree. I fought to be the top in our class just to get a job and work from 9 to 5 for a salary that doesn't even last for a minute in my hand. Work to pay bills. Work and gets into debts. When I gave my all for my job, the company won't even compensate me right. Work and work but still not working to have a life.

I run. I run coz everyone's running. I don't want to be left behind. Then I fell. Looking for a helping hand, I look around I swear. But I failed to find one and realized I have to stand on my own feet. Find the strength within me that I've never knew existed. Because there's nobody there to help me, so I must help myself instead.

I got lost. I got lost in the race. Where am I? I'm in the place where nobody is running. They don't know the race. They sitting comfortably waiting for someone else for a feed. Sleep when the sun is shining and get up when the sun is at its peak. "Why run?" they ask. They contended on their dependent living. I must go. I don't belong here.

So I tried to find the way. I look for the road. I'm so confused, which one should I choose? Okay, I'll take a pick, "Eeny, meeny, miney, mo." Cheers. Here I go!

I got tired. I have no luck. You know, I thought I was on the right path. I met fellow runners, I was excited, my heart started to pound. They will help me in this race they promised me that. But when we're having a rest they just sprint and left me behind.

I walk. I walk slowly. I took a different path. I said I will take my time. I enjoy the trees and the flowers while walking by. I listen when the birds chirp as if they cheering me up. I will lay down in the fields and smell the fresh air when I get tired. It was beautiful. I enjoyed my company. From now on I will enjoy walking alone.

I met others, some walking some are running. Some say goodbye for I'm too slow. Some take a different path because they got bored. Some gave up while some weren't able to go on. Some even show me a shortcut that I'm thankful I didn't walk on.

Then I met this one, who didn't promise me anything but walk with me, didn't leave me. He never asks me to run. He just let me do as I please. We walk hand in hand. We enjoy walking while laughing. My heart starts to pound once more.

I run. I run again. But this time I'm not alone. Now, I'm not going to stop. I will walk. I will rest. But I will keep going. Because now I'm more confident. I trust not the road, not the people but I now trust in me.

Life is like a race. It doesn't matter if you walk, run or leap. It never about if I got lost, if I gave up or if I walk alone. The thing is I pick myself up when I'm down and find my way back to the race after I got lost. It's not about who reaches it first. I don't care if I came last. It's not a race anyway but a journey you have to enjoy no matter what lies ahead. You just gotta face it with a smile and courage.

What if we don't have much time left? Who knows?

Enjoy the journey. Appreciate the road. ❤❤❤

16
$ 7.32
$ 7.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Snezana28
+ 1
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

I guess I'm still running alone in this case because i think he just wanted to stop running with me and i went on ahead. Never saw you write like this before, so this is a surprising change

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey Momma. :)

I had to think on your article for a couple of days before commenting. I just found it so relateable!

Is the person you found can run with you and stop with you, your husband?

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Thank you my dear and yes that's my husband. :) I'm glad you found someone who will stay and run with you. 🥰

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow, that is beautiful. I'm in awe. You really have a poet within you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good morning dear.I agree with you,that life is a race.We all running to better life,to our goals.It is not important when we reach goals,it is important that we reach it,as you wrote in your article.Who knows how much time is left for us? That is way we have to live like this is our last day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True... it's not the race that matters, but the memories you will get from your journey.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

True. Some that brought you tears and lesson. Some made you smile and laugh. It's like collecting memories so you have something to laugh at when the time comes were sitting on a rocking chair.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True madam... Mas madami memories, mas madami story sa mga apo.. Kaso hndi ako magkakaapo 😭🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Madam, wag mo kasing takutin manliligaw mo. 😅 Abay karirin din ang pag aasawa. Pumagibig ka rin naman. Wala ba jan? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nada! 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dear friend, I am many years old and I still run through life as if I were young. Both in the family and at school, for their children, for students, for mom for friends. Sometimes I don’t have time to sleep. And then you realize that life has passed in one run and just stacking memories.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Mum always told me that too. And when she tells me stories its as if it happens yesterday. She missed her energy. But lovely memories she can always smile at too. Thank you, dear. Take care of yourself and wishing you all the best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely, life is a race. You are running against the time and you must run well and win race of your life by converting your precious time into added values.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Good morning dear and thank you for your words. Each of us has its own race to win. Some have to run fast while some doesn't really have to or others just don't seem to bother. No matter, our love depends on us no matter what the situation is. Enjoy the time while we can. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There may be detours in our lives but those detours will give you lessons and mental preparations before reaching your destination. It would be a boring road trip if the road is straight. It's more exciting if there are bumps and zigzag roads ❤

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, it would be boring. The more hardships the exciting it is 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always get frustrated when things get out of my hand but when I mature, I learned to embrace it and took it as a challenge. 💯

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Love that. I used to give up so easily. I have no confidence at all. I have no faith in me. Then I take a chance on myself. I did well!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It did pushed us to the limits and changed our perspectives. 💯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True life is like race and one time life will be end then have nothing to do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life is beautiful ... we should not run, we should enjoy every moment, beauty, flowers, trees, children, rain, beach ...

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Life is truly beautiful my dear. ❤ Are you happy with your life?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a complicated question ... I had a difficult period, in a couple of months my father and son who was only 19 days old died ... Then I was indignant at everything ... Last year .... Now I have a healthy , happy family, we are not hungry, we are not barefoot, we have a roof over our heads .... normally I would like to have much more material, that my closest ones are alive, that I can afford a trip .... I think we all strive for that .... When you ask me, am I satisfied? I AM .... because my wealth is my family ... If I had to choose a villa, wealth, luxury, but without my family or a cane hut and if we were all together, I would choose something else. On the axis of that I am Satisfied

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I had loads of hardships as well and I'm glad like you I am satisfied as we're all together, my family. We don't have much money but we are rich in love. I wish you all the best my dear. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago