Homeschooling During Lockdown

32 75
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty

Homeschooling is not new since the first lockdown. But no matter what, it is very challenging and parents have big responsibilities to make sure that their kids are still learning while on national lockdown.

Before, I get them ready for school and make them breakfast and off they go. I have the time of my peaceful life. Do my cleaning and washing and can sit, browse and chat. Now, even making an article taking me 3-4 nights gap as I only write at night when they're in bed. Now, the whole day and night we're all together. No more peace. πŸ˜‚

I couldn't complain as I understand the situation. But to tell you the truth, it wasn't easy and a bit stressful when I have two children, two sets of homeschool work that we need to work on.

They both use Seesaw App (Class and Family) in their class to send the homeschool work and we answer it, send them back. And as my son Jigz is in P5, there are more complicated works. Same what they do in school. It's more serious. Sometimes, I am so disappointed with myself that I have to google the answer because I don't know and I can't remember it. And you know what? It's very challenging as what I taught in school when I was studying, the way we answer multiplication and division is different from how they are taught now. Sometimes, my son argues with me as it is not the way the teacher show them to do it.

So we do my sons school work from 9-1 pm and Tia from 1-3 pm. Of course, with all the breaks they need and want. I don't pressure them. Then I start cleaning from 3-4 pm and then cook for our dinner. Knackered.

Some parents in the news said they won't do it as they are not a teacher, that they don't get paid to do the job. Right now, what I am doing, I am also a student, learning together with my kids. Today, we're learning 12 hours and 24 hours time. I'm okay with it. Just hear my sentiment, as I was born in the Philippines. Because in the Philippines, when you are asked what time is it, you simply say, 8:15 or 9:45. But why here in the UK, they have to say quarter past 8 or quarter to ten? Like it's so complicated, whenever my husband tells me the time in that way, my brain has a hard time to download the information and it will be faster to look at my phone to check. πŸ™„

While Tia's homeschool work is more on having fun while learning as she's only in P1. But sometimes, I can't make her do it. So I have to be patient and work it my way how to encourage her to do the schoolwork.

Some are fun, we go out to do some science experiments, drawing is her favourite ones, reading, counting and tracing most of the time. She said she missed Mrs Bovill (her teacher).

Sometimes the hard bits are to do other stuff like cleaning, cooking and our playtime. Sometimes to make sure Tia is not into mischief while I'm doing some work, I gave her a chair and taught to wash the dishes.

She loves to do it as she only plays with the water bubbles. I think she can use half of the washing liquid in just one go.πŸ˜‚

Before, we go out and play after school work last summer. This wintertime, we just play Jenga, watch the film (Harry Potter), play hide and sick and while counting, Tia will shout from somewhere, "Mommy, come find me under Lola's bed!" πŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚

This homeschooling is not easy but if we just take it easy, deep breathe while browsing the works and try to answer it, get help from Google then it's not that hard. Only the time it consumes for supposedly other work is the hard bits so we all have to multitask. I think woman are good at that anyway.

This time, while teaching my kids helping them, you know what I realize? How great and amazing teachers are! I only have two and I complain of the works. But teachers handle at least 30 kids every day and never complain. How do they do that? I do not know. Salute to all the teachers! @Snezana28 ❀

Thank you for reading!

(Thank you @MoreGainStrategies for suggesting me to write this.)πŸ₯‚

15
$ 7.18
$ 6.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @minimaus
$ 0.10 from @Rutkowski
+ 4
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Same same. After having to teach my sisters pretty advanced lectures during their online schooling. I was amazed at how teachers can handle kids when i can't even handle my sisters

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Do you wish for a salary too, for its a hard job? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh if i could only ask, i would. It's not easy to teach kids calculus πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜­

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. Ok I'm out. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can i also have outsies on this one πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But there's an advantage too in home schooling right. Look, you spend more time with them, you can monitor their sturdy, help them if needed. But off course it gives more work to a woman, specially if you have 2 or more kids.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha, we all have our time together after school and the time they are in school interacting and learning the proper way is what they needed especially on my daughters first year. But you are right that's also an advantage. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought you only have Tia.. πŸ˜… so you actually have a son.. Pogi naman

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Madam you already told me that the last time and I told you I have two kids. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ulyanin... Or bka hndi ko nabasa reply mo πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was teaching history in primary school too dear.And It was not difficult to handle 30 kids every day.They were good kids and they were listening what I said to them.But this was 15 years ago.I think this lock down is not good for the kids.They need sociality,education at school,their friends.In our country is much more mental illnes of children.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

This is Tia's first year in school and sad that she didn't experience the best of it. Most of her time is they are in lockdown or have to isolate because someone on her bubble has tested positive. I hope next school year will be better. I can only try my best at home. But she miss school.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes dear.Children missing school very much.I think this is too much what they doing to us with lockdown.You are doing great job dear but kids want to play with other kids and we can not educating them as teachers in school.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's as if you described me with the children. Hahahahaha. Same case, only my son is now in the 6th grade. My daughter goes to a small kindergarten, but because of this situation she doesn't go now.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

The interaction and learning in school is so much better. It's her first year in school and didn't experience the most of it. Does your daughter says, she missed her friends in school too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They have been going to kindergarten and school here since January 18. They definitely miss their friends, they like to go.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, that's very nice. I especially loved the picture of Tia "doing the dishes". So cute and you definitely can tell she was having a lot of fun. 😊

I think that the most important and probably most challenging aspect is remaining patient. I can imagine it's hard if the problem is difficult and the children are loud or don't want to work on it anymore. Especially as of now, you spend all day every day together.

But I believe you are a very patient person and therefore, I'm sure you are a great homeschooler. And you would make a great teacher, too.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Playing with water and making bubbles you mean? πŸ˜‚ They are not that bad but just Tia is messy and can make a mess in a whole room the minute she goes in. πŸ™ˆ And won't clean because it's a hard job for her she said. And my son, don't like homework sadly. So patient is really a virtue. πŸ™ˆπŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can definitely imagine that it is taking a toll on you. But at the same time, I think that you will look back and remember this time very fondly. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are just some of the reasons why I did not pursue my teaching career and applied at a public school.lol. if teaching at elem is difficult, how much more in high school. Although I'm not teaching right now in any schools, teaching my 2 daughters are already stressing me out especially my youngest. Mapapa-face palm ka na lng hahaha but salute to us teacher-moms :)

$ 0.05
3 years ago

It's just that our kids there are stubborn and won't listen and do what they are told. Yes salute!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So true, sila pa mas matapang sa teacher ngayon. Pati parents nga minsan,hindi naman lahat pero may ilan na kunting sigaw lng sa anak,papa principal agad si teacher 🀦🀦🀦

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang hirap ng maging nanay ang hirap din ng may anak, di na talaga ako aanak. Pero ung sa time, ganyan din sakin si mami pero ang laging ginagamit nya is ung quarter, pag quarter to 10 halimbawa ata ee 15 minutes bago mag 10, un ang sabi sakin nila pero awan kung un nga baga haha. Hirap kana nga sa pag intindi ng tapos aandaran kapa ng may quarter quarter na yan haha.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Ay naku mattress talaga ako πŸ˜‚ Di na lang sabihin yung digital. Pag iisipin pa ako πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, bakit kasi di nalang deretsuhin ano, kelangam pang magpa quarter quarter haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Parang tribute na rin ito sa mga teachers madam. I salute my mom also as a grade 1 teacher. Sometimes they handle close to 40 to 50 pupils in a classroom. These kids have different personalities to distinguish πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I know. Natawa ako sa isang post. Noon daw masigawan lang ang anak ng teacher ay sugod na agad sa school. Ngayon maghomeschool lang ay may katabi ng pamalo. Papatulfo na daw nya nanay nya πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Salute to your Mom! Sa atin pa naman super kulit at tigas ulo ng mga bata.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Nakoo, yan na trend ngayon. Si idol Raffy πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I completely understand you because parents in Serbia survive the same thing. I don't like online teaching.Parents are burdened, they work instead of children. Children do not have work habits or concentration. It takes a lot of patience.We start school on January 18. I am happy. I wanted so many children. I have a great will and desire to work.And I wish you, dear friend, a lot of patience in working with children. It is not easy. Hello. PS Why did you go to Ireland from the Philippines?

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I am trying my best and it's the patience that I'm working on. Dear, my husband and I live in the Philippines with the kids but Mum and Dad weren't well so we have to come here and when Dad passed away we have to stay to look after her. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel you in the way of homeschooling and other activities of kids! The only difference between us is that we are just renting an apartment here in the Philippines and imagine how difficult to perform every activity in a very small space here.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you Gerl. I know how it feels. I used to rent. I'm really grateful that we have space here and privacy. Kids can run and play in the garden. I know it's tough. But you're a great Mum and know how to entertain your kids. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago