Dealing With Cough in Child During This Covid Time

32 87
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

As a parent, it's not easy to see our little one struggles with cough and not being their best self. This time of the pandemic a simple cough made me paranoid and Covid-19 will always be at the back of my head as it is one of its main symptoms. And it makes me worry more and overreact.

My daughter, Tia (5 years old) just got home from school coughing. So I gave her Calpol right away. That night she can't sleep because of her dry tickly cough and her temperature rise, she's very hot. It's Friday and the clinic is not open on Saturday to book an appointment with her doctor.

What bothers me the most is the type of cough Tia has. She never had and I never experience one before. It's very dry and persistent. It's not giving her peace. And it's not making me sleep either as I lay down next to her while rubbing her back with a vapour rub.

To make sure that it's not covid I do a Covid-19 rapid test at home. It's not easy to do the swabbing on a child. She nearly chokes and it scared me. We have to be extra careful when doing this.

The Self Test Kit is very easy to follow as there's a step by step guide included. I'm so thankful that it comes out negative. I'm so relieved. Now, I have to make some research on what can help my daughter with her dry tickly cough in the meantime that we can't see the doctor.

Types of Cough

I watch the 9 different types of coughs on Youtube. It's very informative and parents should be glad to watch this too:

I learned that not all coughs are the same in kids. And that coughs can be caused by a virus or a bacteria while some others may be due to neither.

9 Different Cough Types in Kids

  • Barking Cough

  • Cough with Phlegm

  • Dry Night Time Cough

  • Miserable Cough

  • Whooping Cough

  • Gross Sounding Cough

  • Rattling Cough

  • Reflux Cough

  • Allergic Cough

But what Tia has doesn't match with its symptoms. Tia has a dry tickly cough and fever. No phlegm. No nasal congestion. So I have to give her something that might help her.

  • Give her plenty of fluid

  • Have a good rest

Let me share with you what I'm doing to ease her struggle.

Natural Remedies

Honey + Cinnamon

I learned this from Dra. Farrah and every time we have a cough, honey and cinnamon is my trusted natural remedy.

Honey and cinnamon boost our immune system and protect us from foreign bacteria and viruses. Both are a rich source of antioxidants and have anti-bacterial properties. 

It's very tricky for me to make Tia drink this though she loves honey she doesn't like the taste of cinnamon. But she drinks it after some kind of negotiation.

Ginger Soup

Ginger has anti-inflammatory compounds that can relax membranes in the airways which can ease a dry cough.

I try to give her plenty of fluids as much as possible and give her ginger soup to help relieve her coughing. I only give what she can take and if she says no more then that's it.

Slice of Onion in her Room

I put slices of onion in her bed. It's not the best air freshener but I believe that it absorbs the flu virus.

I also used to put onions on her feet but this time she doesn't want socks on as she's feeling too warm.

Right now she still has a cough and fever but the thing is she's feeling better and running around with a smile on her face. But she gets upset when the cough starting a round from time to time. I'm still giving her Calpol and cough syrup as well. But I'm looking forward to Monday so we can talk to her doctor regarding this. They are the one who knows the best and can give the right prescription. I just want my baby to get well very soon. And she will be.

Thank you so much for reading.

Have you got any cough/fever remedy that you can share with me and other readers? Please share in the comments below.

22
$ 12.13
$ 11.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 8
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah honey and cinnamon is really effective we also eat or put honey on our drinks when we have a cough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon dearest Tia! Kung nasa probinsya kayo madam, oregano pinaka effective. Yung pure extract niya, 2-3 days lng labas na plema. 😆

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oo nga eh, making oregano din ako kahit pikit matang inuman. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang pait nga eh. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i hope she gets better soon. it's good that you're making her have ginger kasi kahit dito yan talaga gamit eh 😅

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Hanz! She's better now, still cough but she's a lot better than the other day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh that's a relief! in the next few days she won't be coughing anymore UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great, I think this article should be published allover because so many parent and individual are now ignorant of simple cough they see, since it a symptoms of covid 19... mostly here in Africa we get tie all aliment as covid

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you dear. You know, I'm also paranoid about covid if someone coughs in the house. It's not easy to have it this time of pandemic really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take all cough medications, and I pray God will lay His healing hand upon her. That's the value of a good mother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana gumaling na sya tuluyan at mawala na yang cough na iyan. Sakin noon madam inom lang talaga ng inom ng tubig tas mumog warm water with salt, effective sin sakin yan. Ang hirap pa namam pag bata ang nagkasakit, lalo na sa panahon ngayon, aguyy.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ruffa last night talagng yung sibuyas ay effective. Kahit di hindi maganda ang amoy nakatulog si ineng at hindi na masyadong inuubo. Masaya na ulit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mum do use Alum, lime and palm oil. And so far it works for me. But for my younger brother,she do add sugar or honey to make him take it.

Get well soon Tia, the lord is your strength

$ 0.10
2 years ago

What alum is it dear? I haven't tried or heard about this one. And thank you, she's better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The one use to distill water. I'm glad Tia is back and better. And thanks for the Upvotes ma. I really appreciate your support so far. Thanks God bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon!! I pray that your daughter will recover soon...

Besides it also happens due to changing weather and very common but due to pandemics, it's very serious... Being a medical student I always advise people if your willpower is strong you can fight with anything...and lemon, honey, homemade juices are the best source to fight the disease even every homemade thing is beneficial 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You also prefer to treat child with natural preparations than with medicines dear.I only go with children to doctor if it is really necessary and I can not help them.Thank you for sharing your advice how to dealing with cough.I will surely try it.I have to say,that our family was being halthy all winter time.For preventive we using honey with ginger nd lemon.All mixed together.One tea spoon per day is enough for preventive,if you think that you will get sick,than you can take 4 spoons per day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bigla bigla, iba iba ang cases ng ubo ng kids may biglaan taz may nagsisimula sa pagsisipon. Sakin pag nagsisipon muna. Lots of fluid at steam plus vitamin C na rin. Pero nappansin ko sa iba ibang case ng anak ko di tumatalab sa iba ang usual na ginagawa ko kaya ang labas doctor pa rin. Siguro depende sa klase ng ubo kung virus or bacteria o allergy lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay din yan ginger bhe.. Hirap pa nmn ngayon pag magka ubo at sipon naku covid agad result nyan.. Get well soon Tia..hugs and kisses!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Uy totoo yan. My officemate ako nagpacheck up dahil nasprain ang paa aba naman bhe, covid daw! 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha ang layo sa covid sa sprain ha, exaggerated na talaga yan sila 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana gumaling agad madam. Malamig parn b weather jan? Or bla dhl sa init yan? Napapawisan ang likod

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Madam, ang problems kay Tia ay laging tinatanggal ang medyas at coat. Sa school nila pag uuwi lagi syang walang coat kasi sabi nya naiinitan sya e anlamig lamig. Dito kasi kahit may araw malamig pa rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems the same with mine before.. try honey+olive oil+ lemon.. the olive oil soothes the tickling throat, d tlaga nagpapatulog at nkakaannoy.. get well the soonest Tia girl

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you @z_graeden. The thing with olive oil is it's also has a laxative effect which is not advisable for her because she has no appetite for food too.

But I tried olive oil and lemon for kidney cleansing kahit pilot mata anlasa. Grabe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon, Tia! Hope you'll get better the soonest.

Sa amin dito, calamansi juice na pure. Day and night. Tas more tubig talaga.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Wala kasing kalamansi dito. Yung plant ko ngayon palang ulit nagkadahon wala pang bunga. Pero ang hirap painumin ng puro pero lemon itatry ko bukas pag bili ko. Salamat @bmjc98!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag po may ubo kami dito na grabe tapos walang phlegm pinapainom kami ni mama ng royal na may calamansi. Yung malalasahan talaga yung asim. O kaya naman po ipasingot yung usok galing sa sinaing. Yun po ginagawa ni mama.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Talaga? Yung royal na may calamansi never ko pa narinig now lang. Gusto ko ring iisteam kaya lang di nya kaya. Ayaw nya ng init. Itry ko nga ulit bukas. Salamat ha, may bago akong nalaman sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome po. Sana gumaling na po si Tia.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If cinnamon is causing trouble, I've always used honey and lemon in hot/warm water and it works wonders :). Hope she feels better soon!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you @ThinkingRed. And you're right honey and lemon also work as I've tried it myself. I'm out of lemon so I should get it tomorrow. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago