Covid-19 Positive in School

13 36
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

We received an email from school this morning saying that one of my son's classmate has tested positive for Covid-19. The school wants us to collect him from school. We didn't go because my son has his bike so he can go home by himself anytime soon. So we keep waiting on him until the phone rings. It was the school asking us to collect Jigz. And we told her(the teacher), that he got a bike but still insist for us to come.

And so we go to school, the thing is my son is sitting next to the classmate who is tested positive. They need to tell us that. That's why they want us there. And now they all have to isolate for 14 days including their teacher. Close monitoring for 48 hours if there are any symptoms he must get a covid test. The most common symptoms of COVID-19 according to them are:

 new continuous cough (and/or)

 high temperature (and/or)

 a loss of, or change in, normal sense of taste or smell (anosmia)

Now we're really in a nightmare. Although we blame no one for this. Because no one would want to have that virus anyway. Not the kids, not the parents, not the school. The school is praiseworthy on how they're handling this matter of coronavirus in school premises. And I applaud them for that.

Now, our problem is how are we going to do this and to make him understand. He has a boxing lesson today and its 3 times a week which he enjoys. So I explained to him that he cannot go for now, for two weeks. That he cannot go to the park with his bike and play with his friends. That he cannot go to her granny's house and kiss her good morning and goodnight. That he cannot watch in the same room with Tia, cannot share sweets and crisp and read her bedtime story. That he needs to stay in his room for just two days just to see how it goes. And we're hoping nothing develops. And he must wear a mask and gloves inside the house.

And that for now, what normal things he does cannot be done. I gave him vitamin c and multivitamins right away. And told him to wash his hands and sanitize as much as possible. I know that he is healthy and have good lungs but sure the virus wouldn't care less when he attacks.

I can see the sad look in his eyes. He's nearly crying but told him it's fine and everything is gonna be alright. I went to the shop and buy him Henry Horrid's joke book and search word. I let him watch his program in Netflix for the meantime. I bought his favourite crisp and sweets. Just trying anything to uplift him. And he's happy enough.

And how about my daughter, does she need to go to school still? Tia just had her covid test last week after developing coronavirus symptoms. And although it came out negative, the process makes you anxious. When they talk about it on the tv it doesn't bother much but when it's one of your families, you're like you're losing your senses.

The school said that siblings can stay in school providing they or the other sibling has no Covid symptoms – new and continuous cough, high temperature, loss of taste/smell. And that they don't need to get tested unless they develop symptoms.

The school assure us that every precaution has been taken in ensuring the safety of pupils and staff. This is their absolute priority. And that they appreciate the concerns of parents, pupils and the wider school community.

And while I'm thinking of ourselves isolating and that my son sits next to the child that tested positive, my heart also goes out to their family. They're bearing much more worries than us. I pray for the child to recover and her good health is restored.

This incident reminds us all that the virus is living in our community. Vigilance and adherence to public and school safety guidance are paramount in preventing its spread.

We only hope that the virus doesn't get in our community and our own homes. That no one in our family gets it. We must take extra precaution, everyone. I hope and pray that we all keep safe and sound. Thank you and God bless.

10
$ 1.49
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

this is a tedious and serious task. online takes more effort than physical classes and time. And may god bless you and everything is fine. take care, use sanitizer again and again !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm seriously tired yesterday doing homework with him. I am not able to do anything but homework. Yes thank you Ragz, I got everything from sanitizer to spray. You keep safe and your family as well. God bless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ha ha feeling different and living upto your name "tired momma" :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The school of my child started two days and one class plus teachers was sent home and two weeks quarantine. At the time that class was ack (with teachers) the next class was sent home plus teachers. Some teachers are the same as with the first group. School did not inform us once. My child overheard it and it was in the papers. They still visit school. I doubt they will start homeschooling again. If you ask me they truly believe children learn more at school. Both of my children see it mainly as a waste of their time. What they learn is way too low and more chatting as educating. Teachers do not explain either.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My head is sore with all the homework. I am not able to cook or clean today. He can't answer everything on his own. And it's really time-consuming. They learn better in the classroom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My children learn more with me. It always been the case. School hardly teaches and they need to travel long. I still help out. Mine are better off at home. This way they would have more sleep too. I cook only 3-4 days a week. Without cooking one can eat healthy too.

Having children, a partner is time consuming but as a parent I think that's your choice and you need to invest in your children first. Pity if you can't cook, clean, have time for yourself or can't sleep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's just sad, pero i'm sure negative yan, malakas naman pala resistensya ni baby boy, wala naman sya syptoms ano. And doble ingat nalang sa inyo,at di pala online class jan sa lugar nyo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes bhe, still the government insist the children be in school. Mahirap ang online class sobrang pressure sa bata at nanay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

unlimited support my dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear I told you this earlier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sorry to hear this...thanks for sharing.

take care and stay safe!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and you too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago