Learning a Language

2 39
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago

"Easy to say but hard to do."

That's what people who try to learn a new language says, especially when they already try to use the language in a conversation. Learning a new language is challenging but when you succeeded, it is truly rewarding.

There's a lot of reason why a person wants to learn a new language or a foreign language. There are some who tries to learn the language of the place or country they want to spend vacation. Knowing at least the basic words of a foreign place can make it easier for someone on vacation to converse to the natives and can open opportunities to widen out and meet new people. There are also those who study to learn the native language of one of their parents. It helps them to be able to communicate with their relatives who speak that language, and it can also help them to embrace the culture where their parent came from. There are also those who study to learn the language spoken by their spouse to communicate better.

Whatever the reason for learning a new language or a foreign language may be, someone can gain good benefits from it.

It can make the person to be more emphatic. There are those who said that learning a new language helped them understand the feelings of foreigners who comes to a country where the spoken language is different from his or her native language.

It can bring families closer. For others, especially those who grew up in a family where the parents speak two different languages, sometimes, one language is more dominant than the other when used at home and children only learns that language, as a result they may become distant to the other parent who speak the language they didn't learn. But studying it can bring them closer.

But learning  new language is indeed easier than done. There are a lot of challenges.

Here are some points that can help to be successful:

  • Motivation. Somewhere along the way of learning, there may come a time that someone will just suddenly lose the will to continue. So it is important to get something that can motivate you.  Setting a goal can help. When we have a goal we usually tend to do better.

  • Humility. We need humility to accept the correction when a native speaker corrects us or even those who are also learning the language. Accept the fact that perfection in that language can never be reached in a short span of time. And if someone corrects you, accept the fact that it is part of learning.

  • Practice. Practice makes perfect. This line may be cliché, but it is still very true and effective. Practicing not just on your head but speaking with someone who knows the language, much better if it's a native speaker, can help you improve. Language fluency can never be achieved through reading and writing only. Speaking is the most important factor.

Learning a new language is challenging but some says that they will never regret their decision of learning a new language as well as the happiness of learning it.

Worldwide, more and more people are trying to learn a new language for various reasons. If you are one of those people, becoming successful and finally being able to speak the language they studied is one of the most rewarding things in life. I can say that because I myself have experienced the joy of being able to learn a new language. The suggestions above are what I followed, so I could learn and become more fluent in English. I was born in a family who speaks Mandarin, so it is not that easy to learn English. At first, I think it is very complicated, and I was even stubborn about learning it.

But when I reached high school, I finally realized that it would be better if I can learn the language because it can help me to understand my mother better as well as the other relatives. I'm glad that I didn't give up even with all the challenges I faced.

And one more positive effect of learning a new language is being able to write bligs using that language.

@thepandagirl 🐼

6
$ 4.56
$ 4.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @lagrapefruit
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago

Comments

This article relates to me from more, than one aspect. I am Hungarian and I had to learn English as I wanted to move to England. So I did it. It was fun to learn and I don't regret it. Also my wife is Irish and we have a child. I speak to her in Hungarian so she will speak both English and Hungarian.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

That's so true. Learning English as my second language was hard amd during my teenage years I felt kind of distant from a lot of people because I wasn't able to communicate how I wanted to.

$ 0.01
3 years ago