I'm Losing Interest

4 55
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle

Have you ever felt losing interest in things that you previously love doing? That's what I've been feeling recently. I can't perform at my best and I'm always  lazy to do things I previously love doing.

I'm not sure whether this is just a part of adulting or I'm just sick of doing things over and over again. This is also the reason why I'm no longer as active as I was in this platform previously.

I'm not depressed but I'm always sulking these past few days. I want adventure to clear my mind, but due to COVID-19 restrictions, I'm bound to just stay at home, sadly. It's been days since I don't feel like doing anything aside from staying in my room and reading the books that was given to me as a graduation gift. I still have five of them being untouched and I'm really looking forward to finish reading all of them but I always end up sleeping whenever I'm in front of a book these days.

I'm too lazy and sometimes I feel like burying myself in the ground and just live as a potato lol. So I did some research yesterday and found out that I'm actually suffering from anhedonia. 

Are you familiar with this word? Or this may be the first time you heard (or read) about this. Perhaps you encountered it before but you just overlooked and ignored it.

According to a book I previously read, anhedonia is the scientific name for the sudden lose of interest in things you previously love doing. You lose the urge to do something that you have fun doing in the past.

Are you familiar with this word? Or maybe it's your first time hearing or reading this. You may have encountered this before but you just ignored it? What exactly is Anhedonia? According to a dictionary it is the sudden lack of interest in the things you wanted to do before. You just lose the urge to do something while in the past it was your fun every time you do it.

As we age and reaches adulthood, we can have change in our preferences, we can even have a change of heart in the things we love doing. It is part of the human nature to look out for something new, especially those who loves adventure and exploring new things. But it is different from anhedonia.

According to some studies, anhedonia is a sign of Major Depressive Disorder or MDD. But losing interest in the things you enjoy doing doesn't mean you're sick or psychologically sick. Sometimes it happens because we may have been abusing ourselves by working too hard. Perhaps we have a problem or a burden that we can't talk to or open up to anyone. 

So if you feel that you are slowly losing the desire to do things, pause first and think. Try something new, anything that can relax you. If you have a problem and you can't tell others about it, you can write it down. One of the things I have learned when I have a problem is to write down my feelings, no one can give me advices or even understand what I'm going through, but what matters is that I'm able to express any negative thoughts through writing.

And the most important thing to keep in mind is the power of prayer. Maybe others will think that it is only for people who are 'holy', religious and godly. But prayer is a big help, especially when you know that someone is listening to you and can help you along the way. I have tried it many times. When I am reluctant to tell others about my thoughts and prayers, in prayer I cling.

I tell God about my innermost thoughts and feelings and after that I feel like a big weight is taken off my chest because I know and I'm assured that someone listened to what I said and I know he will help me, maybe in the most unexpected way.

If you are one of those who also experience anhedonia I hope that we could all overcome this negative feeling. I'm trying to do all the things I've mentioned in this article, it worked in the past, and I really hope that it would help me this time as well. - @thepandagirl 🐼

11
$ 9.87
$ 9.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esciisc
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle

Comments

Yeah, I've experienced this before too. But I'm back on track and I'm sure you will. Try to do something new or socialize with people. Maybe you just lack socialization, talking and opening up to people would also help. Writing is good but it's different when someone really hears you out (aside from prayer which I must say an effective way too).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find your comment really encouraging. If other people were able to overcome it, I'm sure I can too. Thank you, and for the tip too 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What it sounds like to me is you lack purpose in your life. Rather than looking for conditions you might be suffering from, invest time in figuring out what you want your purpose in life to be.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's my first time to hear that word but I experienced that many times already 😅😅 that feeling that you suddenly don't want to continue what you are doing.. Or you don't have the feeling to do anything except for lying on your bed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago