How did I end up becoming an education student?

2 30
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

I am sure all of us had one way or another encountered the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?”especially when we where younger. It is either asked to us by our parents randomly as we eat together, our relatives during family gatherings, our neighbors as we passed by their houses as well as by our teachers during exit interviews. I myself had encountered this questions more than I can ever imagined and my answers to this question was varied as I grow older and older.

When I was in kindergarten, I wanted to become a veterinarian. The reason why I badly wanted to become one was I wanted to help the animals who are in need. I remembered way back then that there was once I had rescued a sick little kitten wandering at the street, soaked in rain. As a result my six years old self had taught that we people had many doctors who could help us when we are sick or hurt, but when animals get sick or hurt there are only a few veterinarians who could help them. Thus I decided that I should be one, for in this way I could lend a help to those animals who are hurt and sick.

Fast forward, by the time I was in fifth grade my dream of becoming a veterinarian had shifted into becoming a policewoman. The reason why I decided to become one was I wanted to aid in bringing peace and order in our society. You see news about individuals committing evil deeds are rising and rising each day. Thus my eleven years old self had taught that if I were to become a policewoman I could help our society in catching these said individuals who are committing evil deeds and bring peace and order to our dear surroundings. Moreover it was also a dream of my father to have a child who would become a police, that is why as I child I had taught that I should follow what my parents told me to become.

But then again, by the time I was in tenth grade my dream of becoming a policewoman had shifted into becoming a fighter jet pilot. The reason why I wanted to become one was maybe because I was inspired through watching war related movies. My father loves watching war related movies, at first I find it boring since my sixteen years old self prefers watching cartoons and anime series. However as we watched many war related movies, I started to like them and because of this I decided that I wanted to become a fighter jet pilot someday. Aside from the fact that I could help in protecting and defending our sovereignty against foreign and local threats. I could also be able to fly above the sky and see what the land would look like below from a birds eye view.

Now at present I am a twenty-one years old third year college student. Taking up Bachelor of Secondary Education (BSED) Major in Social Studies. You might wonder how the six years old me who wanted to become a veterinarian. The eleven years old me who wanted to become a policewoman and the sixteen years old me who wanted to become a fighter jet pilot had decided to take an education program in college to become a teacher.

At first I never really had imagine that I would wanted to become a teacher, for a teacher’s job requires a great amount of time, effort, patience and understanding. Seeing my teachers throughout elementary and high school teach hundreds of students every day from classroom to classroom. Not to mention the numerous paper works they need to do and submit every day, is something I can’t imagine I would be doing for it is exhausting and tiring. However seeing those teachers doing their best to educate their students thoroughly and well with great passion and love despite of the exhaustion and tiredness they felt for working long hours had greatly touched my heart.

Furthermore aside from the great lessons they impart to us coming from the various textbooks and teaching materials. It was also how they touch, inspire and make a good impact on the students’ lives, through their teachings of good morals and values that had caught my interest the most. That is when I had realized that becoming a teacher is more than just a good paying job, but it is a profession that requires great amount of passion, dedication and love in order to succeed. Thus I decided I should be one, for I believe it is something that would make my heart happy. The process might be hard and exhausting, but knowing it is something that I love and would make me happy, then I wouldn’t mind though.

By now that I am just a little closer to my dream of becoming an educator, I am currently encountering many hardships and challenges. But instead of feeling downhearted and wanting to give up, I made it as a reason for me to strive even harder. For the hardships and challenges that I am facing, is nothing once I have tasted the sweetest fruit of my endeavors. Finishing college and wearing that black toga is just the first step, for I know I still need to accomplish many things in order to become a great teacher. But I know I can do it through hard work, perseverance, the trust and support of the people who believes in me as well as through the aid and guidance of the All Mighty Father God.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 033121

3
$ 4.02
$ 4.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments

A peasant who became an educator? I have to alert my education minister to come learn from these lowborns, they show potential. Perhaps I can implement some changes in Meme Land to allow my subjects to teach even though they aren't noble of birth. That seems to be da wae. Page boy reward this serf when I'm gone. May your house prosper and carry on. MemeLord, King of Memeland.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your kindness MemeLord. May you truly allow anyone in your kingdom to teach, without looking at their social status. For I believe everyone can teach as long as they have that great amount of passion, dedication, love and proficiency on the said field.

$ 0.00
3 years ago