From pen pal to dating sites

5 20
Avatar for taTtoOdRoSe4
2 years ago

Hello my read cash friends, how was your weekend? well me, we attended a Christening earlier my husband is the godfather. As expected there's a lot of food and the diet was skipped again lol. Today is Sunday and it's the 9th day of January we are almost in the middle of the month and this month is the feast of Santo Niño and the Nazarene happy fiesta to all.

My introduction has gone anywhere lol, well I think the topic was obvious but for me, it's an experience worth sharing. If some of you remember that I and my husband met online, it was a Yahoo chat room before it was a funny and also challenging experience because we never know if it's true or not. It is hard to trust and believe a person that you only knew online. Every time is a test you are always wondering what he/she look like, is he/she single or married, is he/she telling the truth anytime you talk or chat.

As I remember, I started questioning my mother before why my aunt's husband are foreigners? and my mother answer's me "through letters" (the more I didn't understand) later on as I get older I just do my research and maybe that is why my mom answered me like that because it's complicated to explain to me in my younger age. I ask one of my aunts how did she and her husband meet, she explained it to me in detail.

In the early 70' and '80s in their generation, most of them wanted to go abroad to work to have a greener pasture to help their family here in the Philippines but still, it's not easy for them. My aunt said it's difficult to work abroad if you don't have enough money and no relatives to sponsor you abroad. At that time she was looking for a job in a News Paper and she pass an ad telling Wanted Pen Pal, she was curious about it and called the number written on it, it wasn't a job but a search for a woman who wanted to marry a foreign man. At first, she was not convinced and for her, it's difficult to trust someone especially a foreigner, but when she found out that some of her friends got into it she tried, in her mind, she will only write letters to impress a man.

It wasn't only one person, she said, she wrote the same letter to 10 different men abroad the catch is may the most many letters win lol, but it wasn't easy. She gained a boyfriend and also lost it, she also experienced being broken heated and some wanted only to be her friend no one offered her a marriage. She was working then and had no time to look for someone to write a letter, there's also a time she stopped writing letters and she thought that she is almost 30 if she will have no man after 30 she will not get married anymore. But it was a blessing in disguise she never thought that someone would write her first, it was a short exchange of letters and then the guy wanted to come over to meet her and the family. My uncle is Danish he is from Denmark my aunt was 35 at that time they got married and my uncle is 45, marrying that age before is already old and fortunately, they still manage to have a child.

Most of my aunt's my father (2 aunts) and mother (2 aunts) side got married through pen pall, before knowing that kind of marriage set up is a head turner to some and the gossip is everywhere. They will say, they wanted to marry a foreigner to go abroad (in other words user) especially when it is rich and old. But in my aunt's case, they didn't marry the rich and old, they go through the process, they have relationships that also have up and down, it's difficult to adjust when both partners have a different language, culture, nationality they need to adapt with the environment they have been. They are happy that they already stepped into the foreign land they become citizens and most especially they worked and still help their family in the Philippines.

Now good to know that we already have the Internet, it's easy to communicate through different kinds of messenger apps. Mention there are also lots of dating sites to choose from. But just a piece of advice if we don't want to be fooled don't give all our trust and also pray that may God guide you to the best man you ever dreamed of. Well, this is it, hope you enjoy reading my story for the day. Thank you very much for all your support and my sponsors for the renewal and for still believing in me.

Have a good night and sweet dreams to all 😘😘.

Lead image source: iStock

Sponsors of taTtoOdRoSe4
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.33
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 1
Sponsors of taTtoOdRoSe4
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for taTtoOdRoSe4
2 years ago

Comments

Bitaw sis no? Sauna kay pen pal ra man ang way kung gusto maka ila ug foreigner, karon karon high tech naman, daghan na dayong dating sites nga pwede ka mag join pero ang uban broken hearted ang resulta lagi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao jud sis daghan na jud pamaagi hehehe mao ng makaingon tag swerte² lang gihapon ang mga ingana😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinuod jud sis, swertahan lang gyud ng ingon Ana jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many things changed dear. Not only that. Nostalgic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes there so many changes, its a matter of luck and true love😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago