What parents can learn from their child

2 25
Avatar for sweetnurse
2 years ago

"Papunta ka pa lang, pabalik na ako", or in English, "You're just on your way there, while I'm already on my way back", the old Filipino saying which the older Filipino people tells the younger ones that they still have a lot to experience in life that they already had experienced. Or which simply means, "Been there, done that".

May I ask, when was the last time someone told you that you're being childish? Was it the time you cried because there's no food left on the table? Was it the time you spoil yourself buying what you want instead of what you need? Or was it the time you blurted out what you really felt to your parents but they ended up telling you that you are being disrespectful to them?

They say maturity means doing good decisions or judgement with wisdom. Is age associated with maturity? Like how Bill and Melinda Gates have given $45.5 billion to charitable causes,

Or when the Filipino Actress Angel Locsin raises Php 10.9 Million cash donations to provide tents for isolation of those who got infected by Covid-19 for hundred hospitals in Luzon?

Or when Dominic Mercado, a 12-year old kid, who lives in New Jersey decided to collect pasta and sauce to give out for the local food kitchen in his hometown?

You see, maturity is not determined by one's age.

Adults are somehow dominating the new generations and not giving them a chance to prove their worth. There are always there to shut your mouth, telling you what is wrong and right but how 'bout our rights? We have our own decisions because it is OUR own life not theirs.

This morning, my mother and I had fought over about the dirty dishes. She just came home yesterday night from my Grandparents' house because she is taking care of them when it is weekends and I heard her say that she's really tired so I told her to sleep early and take a rest. And this early morning, I decided to do the chores for her to rest but she got mad at me when she saw that I washed the spoon and fork first rather than the glassware. I was surprised when she suddenly shouts at me and of course, it hurts my feelings, it was not my intention to get her stress... I considered her feelings and tell to myself that maybe she's just tired and not in the mood. But you know I am too sensitive and can easily cried over simple matters. I asked myself, was I wrong? What did I do wrong? Was it necessary for her to shout at me like that over simple things? She can just tell me calmly the instructions and I will do that...

But you know the feeling when someone shouts at you, you will shout at them too? Yeah, that was what I did. I shouted at her and told her that when me and my siblings were only in the house we were peaceful and everything were organized and balance. No one shouts at you and no one will get mad at simple things. I told her that. My emotions were raging, and I think everyone does experienced this.

I did not shout at her just because I washed the spoon first rather than the glassware, I shouted at her because it is too much. She gets mad when I wear shorts even just inside the house, she gets mad when I want to try to cook, she gets mad at everything I do and that makes me sick. I want to try to help her but she is pushing me away. She is not like this before... she used to be my best friend whom I can always count on, whom I can tell my funny stories, or who is my crush every week or who listens to my rants about school stuffs. She seems far away and I didn't like that...

I want someone who can tell me that I'm going somewhere... that I can be successful too like them, not someone who will tell me that I'm going nowhere if I will be disrespecful to them.

For the parents out there, who are reading this article. Try to understand what your child wants to say. Try to understand what their intentions are first, before you get mad and tell hurtful words. Try to tell them nicely what their wrongs are, for us to understand what you meant.

I know that you, parents, wants the good for us but do not limit your child to grow, just guide them. Instead of telling them "Oh my gosh! Don't drive anymore! I will never let you until you get your driver's license!", try to tell them, "Don't drive until you do not know how to drive. Because you might killed someone, hurt yourself, or get into an accident. You can drive when you get your driver's license but still be careful". The reason why parents and child cannot understand each other is the child tells them what they want to say while their parents are not explaining calmly why do they not allow their child to do that. And the result? You just made a gap. And that gap will be bigger and bigger if you will not change your act.

So I think, I'll end this article now. 'Coz I need to hug my mom and tell her that I'm sorry. Goodbye...

Credits to google for all the photos except the lead image which is mine.

Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.51
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sweetnurse
2 years ago

Comments

What cause fight among parent and children is not taking time to understand each other. The children also have emotions and as parents, they need to understand them and not nagging at them always. This makes them feel lonely and always sad. Parents should always give reasons to their behavior to their children and never think it is what you tell a child, he must do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, sis. And I hope every parent will explain their behaviors to their child because sometimes the child might not understand them and will just take a step backward...🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago