My Grandmother's Special Biko

2 16
Avatar for susanavel2005
2 years ago
Topics: Food
Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty

Hi! Hello! Annyeonghaseyo! Nǐ hǎo! See, I am improving now aren't my greetings is worldwide? hahaha That is the result in watching Korean Drama and Chinese Drama together with my mom. This time around is my 3rd article. Wow! I can't believe it.

Tonight I will share to you ONE of the special biko of my grandmother, why I said ONE? It is because she has 2 kinds of Biko. The first one is Biko with Latik and the second one is Biko with Lunok. I'll be sharing tonight the second one. Biko here in the Philippines is very popular it is perfect with your coffee, but for my grandmother she loves to pair it with cold softdrinks.

Quick trivia of Biko:

This is according to Wikipedia, I searched it so that I won't make mistake (hehehe).

I am kind now and Christmas is coming soon, you can include this in your list of food to cook so I'll give you a list of ingredients and how to cook it. See the list of ingredients below:

INGREDIENTS:

1 kilo glutinous rice

3/4 cup brown sugar

4 cups coconut milk

1 tbsp. vanilla essence

4 tbsp. margarine

peanuts

The ingredients are easy to find right? Next is the procedure.

Cook the glutinous rice just like a normal rice, rice cooker will do.

Put the coconut milk in a large pot and let it boil. Stir it from time to time.

After the coconut milk is boiling it will create curds (do you see the white one? that is the coconut curds or the "lunok"). Slowly stir because if you stir it constantly and fast the curds will crushed. Let the coconut oil come out naturally.

This is the cooked coconut curds it will turned golden brown (I'm sorry, the photo is a bit blurry).

You will take half of the coconut curds for toppings later and the other half leave it on the pot. Leave enough coconut oil on the pot because that's the time you will put the cooked glutinous rice and brown sugar. Do you see those red little circles? That's peanuts so there is an extra crunch when bitten. (that's our little secret, though it's not secret anymore hehehe)

Mix a bit so that all the ingredients will incorporate and leave for a few minutes. After a few minutes mix it again and then leave for another few minutes. After 2 or 3 times mixing it is ready to serve.

WRITER'S MESSAGE:

I hope you like my article and try to cook it with your family also. It will be a one way of your family bonding. Keep safe everyone.

Love lotz,

susanavel2005

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for susanavel2005
2 years ago
Topics: Food

Comments

Hahhaha I love korean dramas hahahh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here but it depends on the story and the stars as well. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago