I learnt quite early in life. . .

0 14
Avatar for styles
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Poetry

I learnt quite early in life

To never stand under trees when the rain falls

For on your head a branch may just fall

I learnt quite early in life

The stars only twinkle in the darkness

So if it wasn't dark, It wouldn't shine

I learnt quite early in life

The Santa Claus didn't exist

That elf's and tooth fairies were all myths

I learnt quite early in life

That I wasn't perfect

And hiding in my shell was the only way I could survive

To be safe and never fall of a cliff

for you see...

I was never proud of me.

From the way I talked,

To the way I stood

To the way I looked

I wasn't even good at laughing.

I was far from normal.

I was shy

Timid

Standing behind a microphone

would only have happened in my dreams

I had dreams to be a star

To make people smile.

Be the reason that they laugh

And I always wish I kept sleeping

for day dreaming was my only way

my dreams could stay alive.

I didn't want to wake to reality

Awake to the fact that my self esteem was low

I felt like a bread without a dough

A star without a glow

I felt like life is short and time is tickling

So live right and make every second count.

And the best time to start is NOW

1
$ 0.00

Comments