Food Photography at Weddings

3 29
Avatar for stevenvanelk
3 years ago
Topics: Photography

Being a wedding photographer is weird. Most people think of wedding photos as the cheesy, posed family portraits where everyone is staring at the camera and smiling. Modern day wedding photography means you have to be good at a bunch of different types of photography though, not just the family portraits. Every wedding a modern photographer is shooting architectural photos, food photos, detail/product photos, documentary photos, and then occasionally automobile, equine, and landscape photos too depending on the venue and what the bride and groom have hired for the day. As a result, I've had a lot of time to shoot photos of food, something I never really saw myself doing. Here's a sample of some food shots from different weddings. You might notice, it's mostly cakes.

This bride and groom really loved Harry Potter. So they had the catering team prepares little glasses of butterbeer for their guests to drink with their cake. It was amazing. I'm not a big butterscotch fan, but this butterbeer was great. Almost as good as the butterbeer you can buy at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

This bride and groom loved to travel. Hence why they had the continents put on the cake. After the wedding they went on a honeymoon in Italy and they bought my wife and I gifts on their honeymoon. We've literally never had clients look for gifts for us on their honeymoon. It was very thoughtful. The groom bought me a leather journal which was just amazing looking.

Hanging wedding cakes are somewhat new in my area. Guests at weddings love them. I was doing photos of the reception area while the cake artist was setting this up, and it did not look like fun. Usually the cake artist just sets the cake down and walks away, but this was like 30 minutes of fiddling with the wires to make sure everything was level and that it wouldn't fall over. 

This next cake is one of my favorites. The bride wanted a cake with sprinkles, because she loves sprinkles. It's a bit atypical for a wedding, which is probably why I like it so much.

Thanks for taking a peek at some of my photos. I am a full time wedding photographer with Van Elk & Co who also makes a comedy podcast about running a wedding photography business called the Wedding Photo Hangover. A few of these photos are on my Unsplash, but most aren't since they were done at weddings.

3
$ 0.31
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
Avatar for stevenvanelk
3 years ago
Topics: Photography

Comments

Wow! I love how creative these cakes were made.. I love watching reality TV shows about them, looks pretty extraordinary, especially that hanging cake! Haven't seen one! Thanks for this delicious tour 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You made good captures .I am a foody person by the way...

$ 0.00
3 years ago