Single-Mother Discrimination

2 17
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago

Given their social and monetary vulnerability, single moms are more likely to experience different adverse health outcomes. Trying to balance all of their tasks and obligations in a one-person household presents challenges for single parents. Since most single mothers planned their family life with a partner, having that partner pop like a bubble in the middle of nowhere is the biggest challenge because they will have to carry the family alone. The need for companionship and support from a single parent causes the youngster to find it challenging to walk away.

Women still experience severe social and legal injustice, which hinders economic progress. When there is a circumstance that fosters animosity between the genders involved, gender inequality occurs. For instance, a gay student was denied the opportunity to go across the stage to get his diploma on graduation day in one episode of a local television program about people who had their rights taken away.

Another example is that gay men are not often allowed to join the military. Although the US Navy, according to research, is permitting other genders to join in because of the acceptance of their community to the profession, some are mocked and some don't even like the idea because of homosexual acts that may happen inside. Moreover, women also suffer from discrimination in this kind of area. I often watch true crime shows about women who were harassed and looked down on because them being a woman. Regardless of whether this sort of situation is viewed as a major issue, the gravity of the conduct is not frequently discussed. If my math is right, there are more instances of LGBT people being denied rights than there are of the harassers being imprisoned.

Moreover, the rights of women are fundamentally denied. Inequality and prejudice are issues that women must deal with. In a country like the Philippines, men who cheat seem to have been taken by other people as a "normal" thing. My father cheated and had a child with his woman and my grandmother, who is his mother, said to me that all people do that and I just to widen my understanding of the situation. My anger rose at this, and I completely lost all respect for her and her family. I struggled to comprehend how a lady could address me in this manner as if it were the most natural thing in the world. My grandmother was the type of person who believed that women should do all the work while men should be free to do whatever they want, including not providing financial or emotional support for their child or children. Because of this, I believe that she would not view my mother as a perfect mother if the roles were reversed.

Women experience exploitation and violence. They are treated unfairly at employment, at home, and in their major cities. They frequently aren't given the chance to study, make money, and leadership all at once.

Parental duties and responsibilities toward their kids cannot be divorced from their interpersonal interactions. The difficulties a single mother faces also rely on the kind of marriage she had before being divorced. When becoming a single parent is a decision, it is often well thought out and won't be a major strain. My mother was not the typical mother when she was still with my father. Ever since my little brother was born, my mother was the one providing all the things we need. My father at the time became sick and had to perform surgery but that is not the case. He said that he cannot be with us because of the "radiation" and the harm it might cause, "but he can be with another woman?". He didn't even give my mom financial help because of I-don't-know reasons, maybe he has another family out there.

Ever since then, we decided to live as if he doesn't exist.

And the thing I realized is that single parents will carry the burden of being two people at the same time. The first is being someone who works to support the family and the second is the one who nourishes and educates the children.

Despite having the chance to work and expand their knowledge in any sector of expertise, women are constrained by having a family. Women are more dramatically impacted by the marital disturbance in terms of their mental health. The flexibility of a single parent, not just a single mother, is a completely different stage in life. My mom had to endure things from providing financial things to cooking dishes. Since I can do household chores during my college days during the pandemic, my mom had to focus on work duties and I help with the household activities. However, if ever a single parent has no one to lean on and has a baby at the time of the pandemic, it would be really hard for them to at least take a rest because of personal and work responsibilities.

1
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago

Comments

Single mothers even fathers are commendable and I have a higher respect to them. They have to be a mom and a dad at the same time. So we should not descriminate and underestimate them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Single mothers are the ones who deserve the greatest respect! Raising a child all by yourself is a very had thing to do. It's the love, support and respect they deserve, and not hatred and discrimination. Nice context! I hope this article will serve as an eye-opener to who love to discriminate single mothers. Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago