Photocopier: Netflix Movie Review

7 29
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Film, Netflix, Movie, Photocopier, Story, ...

I saw a Facebook story that has a screenshot of a YouTube timeline from one of the celebrities I follow on Facebook wherein she watched the trailer of this Netflix film called Photocopier. I was intrigued by it so I went to YouTube to watch the trailer. It wasn't that exciting when I watched it however I thought that it was kind of suspense and I'm optimistic so I gave it a try.

Reminder: First scenes of the movie were spoiled.

The Photocopier is a movie about a schoolgirl, Suryani, who joined a theater group where she makes their website to be known worldwide. She also uses this opportunity for her portfolio and to have that scholarship she wants. The play that the theater performed won an award and as part of the celebration, they decided to have a party over Rama, the group's photographer, and also a son of a very wealthy man. Sur's dad was a very strict religious father so at first, he was hesitant to allow her to go to the party, he wants Sur to prepare for the presentation for the scholarship tomorrow, but her mother allowed her so she still went to the party. She went alongside her friend, Amin, who works at the photocopying business in school. At the party, Rama's father offered Sur a job to work with him and his friends. Since it was a party, everyone was celebrating alongside drinks and other things that shouldn't be allowed to people in general. Sur woke up the next day in her bed and started rushing because it was her interview for the scholarship. She didn't have time to change so she was still wearing that party dress, which is inappropriate compared to a formal outfit. At the interview, the board members were not pleased since they were very strict with innocent practices. Sur's drunk photos were posted on her social media and she lost her opportunity to be chosen. Sur was kicked out of her home and had to stay at Amin's house. She wanted to do her investigation by hacking into their accounts whenever they plug in their phones in Amin's shop and this was where all the other secrets of the theater group members were revealed.

The first part of the movie was actually a typical movie start. I have seen movies where innocent high school young girls and boys went to a party and then in the morning, woke up with a very disturbing situation. One thing that I want to point out is that the cinematography of the film is not that Oscar-worthy on my part, but is actually amazing if we are to talk about a local indie film. I'm not that amazed but it was enough for my expectations for the film.

Also, since I'm in line with what she wants to be in life, it made me excited to watch the entire film. I also want to be a website developer and I can say that making websites from scratch doesn't only focus on that box. Hacking into someone's phone in a network that not everybody will care to know is a different and cool level of practice. However, I actually love the film more if they just made Sur the type of character who is into cybersecurity. I mean, if someone who is not working in the Information Technology field is going to watch the film, it would not be a new thing if that website developer likes to hack. But if you are into website development, you would know that they are two completely different things. However, in the deeper picture, the technique she did to hack can be done by anybody else since it was not that difficult, you just have to think smarter.

What I totally love about the film is that it keeps you alive whenever Sur discovers something. Because she lost the scholarship, she wanted to know who posted the pictures that were taken. And I thought this will be the focus of the whole film. However, I love how the people behind the story and film knew that if they will just focus on who was to blame for the pictures, it will not be a good film. This is what I love about Netflix films. I just love their twists.

The first pivotal part of the film is, of course, the fact that Sur is hacking into those phones. It was good, not amazing, but still good since not only she was going to everyone's pictures, also their social media accounts. She did find things that will go for the first climax of the movie. The first secret was revealed when confronted the group and going on to the CCTV footage that night since they were partying in a very wealthy family's house so there will be cameras all over the house.

The first theater member she blamed in the film was I thought was the one behind everything. And even though the movie presented several pieces of evidence that it was not him, there's this slight kick that maybe it was really him. And maybe the storyteller just wants the audience to think of another different member to blame. I held onto the member she chose but it went off as the film goes on.

I just have to say that whenever I watch this kind of film, I always like to go through hidden messages. Maybe those messages were not that deep, I want to find the eggs before they can even cook them. And for the first time in my Netflix movie history, I actually love this movie's twist. I mean I haven't watched that many Netflix movies since I always like to watch old movies, except horror flicks. This is not a horror movie but the suspense of how Sur is eager to find a solution that will make her satisfied to know who is to be blamed is what makes it more beautiful.

The main twist of the film is that everyone will be glued to their seats. I love how it represented the start scenarios all the way to the end. Some of the scenes may not be connected to the main problem of the film but it brings that suspense to the viewers. It's like being in an obstacle course where you have to go through different challenges before you go to the finale.

The ending was a bit off since I want more to it but it's enough for everything I want in the film to at least happen.

Overall, I will rate it a 3.5/5.

3
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Film, Netflix, Movie, Photocopier, Story, ...

Comments

I scrolled to the end of the article. i'm planning to watch it once I'm in the mood hihi. I also thought it was a filipino film.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll definitely enjoy the film.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the movie based on what you describe and explain from your article friend. The most exciting part when Sur make a way and find those who hacked the account and upload the pictures.

The story is really interesting. I will check it into the Netflix later because I love movies especially.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have fun watching! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend. I will. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks interesting.. Should i check?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should. It's a mind-blowing film.

$ 0.00
2 years ago