Many Opportunities Were Lost Because of Shyness

1 24

I could have been a whole different person right now compared to who I am last year if I just grabbed the opportunity. I care so much about what people say to me and how they see me as a person to the point that I don't even know myself anymore. There are times that I motivate myself because I know that I could do better than what I am thinking but there are still moments that I think somebody is watching me.

Many people took the attitude that it was up to individuals to improve their lives during the personal growth movement. "I can do it" encapsulated the day's directives: self-reliance and self-efficacy. We proceeded under the assumption that even extreme shyness is best understood as a lack of "social fitness," similar to a lack of physical fitness. Parental and peer rejection, as well as parental overprotection, all have a role in the development of pathological shyness, leading to a lack of consciousness.

Growing up, I experienced a lot of love from my parents but at the same time, they are also protecting me in the way that they are strict on my part. I have no problem with them having many rules inside and outside the house because I always have that thinking that it's for my benefit. So when I had peers in school that completely judged me based on my physical appearance, I had a hard time accepting everything. I had no time to fight back also because I knew that no one will be on my side, even the closest friends that I had back then. Transitioning to high school, I missed a lot of moments that could have been fun but I decided to make decisions to the opposite. Like when the class is hanging out in the woods but I decided not to go by saying that it's medical advice that I should not be in that kind of environment, which, by the way, is a dumb move on my end. Although in most parts, I participate in activities that happened in school, I know that I didn't have fun doing them. I have people who I know make fun of me that's why I have a hard time socializing with other people.

People with anxiety disorders frequently fear that others will judge them. People will think negatively of them or that they will be judged. Simultaneously, they may worry that they aren't as excellent as others and aren't 'up to par.' Several socially nervous persons are comfortable while conversing with people they know well, but they are terrified when interacting with newcomers. It can also happen the opposite way around. Certain individuals are likely to avoid tough circumstances entirely, which can result in a significant deal of difficulty, a loss of social life, or even a loss of employment opportunities. Others will deal with their nervousness upon doing factors that help them feel more secure and safe in what may appear to be frightening circumstances.

Going into college, I really thought that I would have been a different person. I honestly think that I'm still the same person when it comes to talking to other people and presenting myself. Even though I handled most parts that require me to be on my own which is a lot of fun, I don't think that it's enough when making decisions that will affect me and my future. Even when I know the answers to a lesson, I'm always frightened of being called on in school. I always wait for the professor to call me because I don't want to be called out when I say something wrong and I don't want other people to look at me as if I am above all of them. During my application on several jobs, my heart is really pounding as if I'm going to embarrass myself once again in front of a professional. I know that those people who interviewed don't personally know me so they have nothing to say and they will forget me at the end of the day, I still have that nervousness in me.

It's scary to make decisions that will have long-term effects. Also, it's like making a decision that you will get to look back on, even if you don't get the part. Making a significant shift in one's life or staying the same are both eerily ambiguous choices. Any significant opportunity has advantages and disadvantages, but your willingness to try new things may also influence your selection.

I actually feel jealous of people that are doing better than when it comes to basic things. I always wanted to be a better one since I know that it will benefit not only myself but also the decisions that will affect the people around me. Just like me, other individuals who struggle from shyness are unlikely to be as happy as they may be. They are apprehensive and hesitant much too often, and instead of seeking methods to have rewarding social encounters, they hunt for strategies to escape much-feared rejection. Shyness is a very frequent trait.

I would like to ask anyone who reads this, how can I cope up with my shyness?

3
$ 2.31
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Khing14

Comments

Sometimes shyness is showing lack of confidence..so I would say, try to boost your confidence and use it as your first tool to overcome shyness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago