Cheating is NOT a Normal Thing

2 31

It's actually tiring when you keep on listening to people saying that cheating is just part of a relationship or it happens every day to the point that people think it's just normal for someone to cheat.

My father left us for another woman. And it isn't just like after years of marriage and having a family, he just goes on to go to another house. Ever since the day I can remember, I already saw my mom crying because he used to cheat. I remember it when we were dressing up for church and my mom just had a conversation with her parents because they caught my father doing a bad thing.

Fast forward to my graduating already in college, and before graduation, I had a conversation with my grandmother one morning.

I actually thought that she was on our side or at least in the neutral area and not be on our father's area, even though he was her son, because she knows that he did a bad thing. However, that's not what happened.

She told me a statement that went on up until now and will live with me forever, developing my trust issues, alongside my daddy issues.

She said that it was not just my father who cheated. She said that there are many people in this world who do that thing. And she also pointed out that if it wasn't for my father, I wouldn't be able to go to the university I am in.

As if I am obligated to look at those things like the person who did that to me isn't my father. I think she missed the point that my father has a responsibility to support me and bring me to a school that will benefit my future. Because of that morning, I regret going to that university and finishing my studies. I regret everything that happened during the course of four years. I honestly thought that I should have just failed so that I can go to another university. My graduation was supposed to be a memorable thing, and it was, but not on a positive note.

Up until now, I carry the burden that will haunt me forever. Maybe this is why I am not excited to be in a relationship because I have that trust issue that people don't really care for me or, at least, respect me.

I hope people will understand that when you cheat on your partner, it isn't just about love itself, there are so many other things.

For example, since my mom has kids, me and my little brother, even though I am not really longing for a father figure, my little brother does. I guess he wants to have a father that will play with him and he gets jealous whenever he sees other kids with their whole families. I also have that feeling at some point, but then I remember that I don't want to be in that situation again because it just keeps getting worse.

The worse part is that even though it's already 2022, we still have people who think that cheating in a relationship is just an obstacle rather than a stopping point to get out of that box.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Micontingsabit

Comments

I'm sorry to hear this my friend. Cheating is not normal indeed. It will give a worst pain of a person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The people who say cheating is normal for men are never contented and have no peace of mind. They can also be considered narcissists haaaaay oh this goes for women too

$ 0.00
1 year ago