My Bullying Story (part 1)

8 52

"Bullying Ruined My Childhood"

As a child, I was repeatedly bullied because of my weight..

Image Source

I was just a normal kid who loves to eat sweets like candies chocolate and I admit I have a big appetite. My sister was just like me who's not a picky eater but unlike me she doesn't gain weight and stays petite.

Aside from reading books and playing outdoor games, eating was my hobby. My family and my neighbors loves to pinch my cheeks and they say that I am so cute and huggable.

I really don't have any idea about diet or anything related to proper way of eating. I eat food I like and that's all that matter.

Unsplash

Bullying started the moment I went to school.

When I entered our classroom all I can see was their awkward glances. What I didn't expect is that this awkward glances will turn to bullying.

I was just an elementary pupil at that time when my aunts were laughing at me because they said I was fat and I could almost reach their weight.

There was a time when I came home from school and I was crying because my classmates were bullying me, they told me I was awfully fat and I was the fattest among my classmates. They often called awful name such as "pig", " mataba", "chaba", " jumbo", "tabachingching" and "dambu".

Throwback Photo

I was 7 years old at that time. We're in grade two and we sing doxology. Our teacher said that we should only wear school uniforms while performing. I didn't have a school uniform at that time so I just borrowed it from my cousin. Her uniform didn't fit me even though she was two years older than me, and what my mom did was she didn't zip my skirt and just roll it up so that my skirt doesn't fall off and I can sing on stage.

Unsplash

As I grew older I experienced many more insults and ridicule. One of the things I will never forget is when I went to my grandfather's house and then their maid laughed at me because my arm was big and she said that I looked like a boxer. I couldn't help but get angry and cry so when I went home I told my mom everything the maid said and all my mom said to me that it was just a "joke". I was a little angry with what she said because she didn't take my side.

Image Source

One time I was playing a game with my friends and a group of girls were starting to call me "taba". They kept bullying me so I tried to ignore them for a while but they didn't stop and even befriend with me but I doubted that they will still bully me even we became friends. I did not fall in such act so what I do to resolve the problem is to left the game.

I personally think that bullying is one of the most evil things that destroyed my childhood. It was terrible and I didn't know how it exists but it really does, and it hurts me and other people who experience it.

Unsplash

Bullying has done a lot to me, it deeply affects my cognitive and emotional development. It started to impact my schoolwork, self-esteem and overall health. I also developed depressed mood, low self esteem, school avoidance and eating disorder.

I suffered from eating disorder called Anorexia Nervosa . After I eat I quickly go to the Bathroom and vomit everything I ate.

People with anorexia usually severely restrict the amount of food they eat. They may control calorie intake by vomiting after eating or by misusing laxatives, diet aids, diuretics or enemas. They may also try to lose weight by exercising excessively. No matter how much weight is lost, the person continues to fear weight gain

Source

But despite of all the challenges and bullying, I still maintain my grades at school and graduated as salutatorian. All thanks to God.

Conclusion

I learned that young children will be immature and do stupid things. I learned that you can't let your past traumas chain you down or destroy your life.

Do I forgive those bullies?? Yes.

To move on in life, we must forgive.

Thank you for dropping by<3

You can also follow me on:

noise.cash

The part 2 of this article is "My Weight Loss Journey". To be published soon..

Sponsors of springapple
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.07
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @UsagiGallardo215
Sponsors of springapple
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Fighting 💪 gurl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bullies are everywhere so we must guard our self-esteem and not let their negativity get into our system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes definitely. I know that bullies may also suffer from traumas or physical violence that's why they bully other to take a revenge or maybe something. I understand them but I don't tolerate bullying. Bullying is not okay and will never be okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so too, they divert their hurt by inflicting the same to others and that is absolutely intolerable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am also facing bullying for the weight my body has gained at the age of 25. I don't mind it much yet struggling to overcome it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you can, you sure can overcome it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I even experienced bullying before sis and they really know that they are destroying ourselves before. But to be sure your okay now and change is the greatest revenge of all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's important that we don't let those bullies destroy our life. Be strong and always be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago