Things you SHOULD NOT Say #phobia

0 20
Avatar for so
Written by
2 years ago

What is your phobia? Or do you have any at all? Recently, I had my nieces come for a sleepover. When it was bedtime, the youngest was concerned about a dog. Somewhere in the neighborhood was a dog barking at intervals. I reassured her of safety, and she soundly fell asleep. In that instant, I remembered seeing my younger self through her fear. Nightime was a big nightmare for me because of barking dogs and meowing cats. Unlike her, I did not have anyone’s reassurance that I was safe. Such phobias were downplayed, and so I couldn’t tell anyone.

Disrupted sleep, sweating, and panic attacks became part of my night routine. I thought the anxiety would wear off with age, but it is hasn’t. I still have dog and cat phobia. It’s a work in progress, and I will get there someday. For instance, I sleep peacefully throughout the night. What I can’t do is have a dog or cat next to me.


What you shouldn’t tell someone struggling with phobias


Don’t be silly or that’s silly: Try to be considerate. We are all different and with different experiences. Some of the phobias have to do with our past experiences. Instead of being judgmental or jumping to conclusions, help someone identify the source of their fear.


Your phobia is unreasonable: There is no scale to judge which phobias are realistic or not. Approach people from a place of love and not judgment.


I will bring/throw to you a (name your phobia): Avoid threatening people with what scares them. I’m yet to know where my phobia originated from, but I know of some threats. Growing up, I would hear parents telling their kids they will send them out to the dogs or cats if they refused to eat.


There you go, those are my two cents regarding phobias. Let me hear your thoughts. Stay kind.

2
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for so
Written by
2 years ago

Comments