What's your name?

21 28
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen...

Before we get to the title, lemme ask you some of my other questions.

Are we going to stop moving too?

This is actually a question from my seven year old daughter that got me thinking too. If the world would stop moving around the sun and its axis, are we going to stop moving too?

I've read somewhere that the true measurement of everything is time. Without time, everything would not make sense.

So if the Earth would stop moving, would it stop the time too? Would we stop too like statues? Would the rain hang in mid-air? What would become of the world if everything stopped?

Why do you love her so much?

This is the question that I can't formulate a logical answer. To any parent out there reading this, why do you love your child so much?

So much that I would do anything for her. Sacrifice everything just for her sake. Give everything I have for her.

If I would say, because she's my daughter. That would be an acceptable answer. But why?

My love for her is so much different that I felt for my parents, for my siblings, for my husband, for my friends. My two girls occupy the most part in my heart, and it is very special. Is there a scientific explanation to this?

If you could turn back time, would you do things differently?

This is an old time question but it still makes one ponder before giving their well-thought answer.

If I have the opportunity to turn back time twice, then I will.

Why twice? Because I would like to see the outcome if I would take a different path, turned left instead of right. Where would I end up? Who would I become? Would I be richer or live in a dumpster?

However it turned out to be, I still wanted to go back to my original timeline. I've made a lot of wrong and right decisions. Things that would've been better if I chose the choice I ignored. But despite all the mistakes I've made, it still led me to a happy life. Of course with ups and downs, rainy and sunny; nevertheless a happy life.

What's your name?

This is the first question we ask whenever we meet someone new. We wanted to be friends with them so we asked their name. But lately, I've been asking this to myself, what is your name?

Me and my husband met in an online game. We know only with our in-game name. Before we became official, he mentioned me to his friends, and family using my in-game name. Technically, they all got used to calling me with that name instead of my real name.

We got married. I moved to their place which is an eight hour trip from Manila, two airplane rides from the province where I was born. Far from the two places where it became my home.

In the place where I am now, they call me by that name. Until I became so used to it. Until I somehow forgot the sound of my real name.

It felt so weird hearing it even with my own voice. It sounded like someone else's name, a stranger.

When I was in labor with my second child, I was in so much pain. The doctors used my real name to get my attention. It felt so weird, it was like they were calling someone else, not me.

It feels like I have left it somewhere. A stranger, it doesn't sound the same like I remembered it to be. It is like a distant memory.

How about you, do you still know your name? What's your name?

***

This is my entry to the #5 writing prompt Questions by @JonicaBradley

You may want to check out my other entries in this writing prompt.

#3 Similarities - The Curious Case of Fried Towel

#4 Darkness - The Ghost and The Tree

Thank you for reading.

If you like this article, a vote and a comment is very much appreciated.

Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 1.75
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 2
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments

I think it's common here in our country that our official name is not used much because we are given aliases. Except for me lol! It was only in high school that friends started branding me but nothing stuck. My partner started using a different name when he was in college and it stuck until now.

The first question, I think I've read that somewhere. I'll try to Google it. The second one, I can't relate but I do see it in my brother how he treats her daughter with love. The third, it would be very complicated network to see your choices for every move has a left and right :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please do share the link if you find it. I'm really curious of how the earth would become if it would stop moving.

Thank you so much for reading and stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here's quick answer according to this https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/what-happen-earth-stopped-rotating-180970312/#:~:text=At%20the%20Equator%2C%20the%20earth's,moving%20atmosphere%20would%20scour%20landscapes.

What would happen if the earth suddenly stopped rotating?

— Roy Arvio | Chicago, Illinois

It wouldn’t be good. At the Equator, the earth’s rotational motion is at its fastest, about a thousand miles an hour. If that motion suddenly stopped, the momentum would send things flying eastward. Moving rocks and oceans would trigger earthquakes and tsunamis. The still-moving atmosphere would scour landscapes. But not to worry: Such an event would require the same amount of energy stored in the momentum of everything on our rotating planet, says Jim Zimbelman, a geologist in the Center for Earth and Planetary Studies at the National Air and Space Museum, and no physical mechanism on earth can supply that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scary pala. I guess apektado din ang movement ng moon kung nagkataon.

Thank you for this. Although it's never gonna happen. I don't want it to happen hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. End of the world na pag ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love my son so much that I will do everything for him also. No sufficient answer will come to mind with how much we love our child. They came from us so we value them more than our own lives. I do have little regrets but the gladness was more in choosing the path I made because It made me who I am today.

hahaha same, I'm using an Idol's family name in any of my social media accts and even at work, people call me by that name. Only my family call me by my real name ..lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba? We don't have the exact answer on why we love our children so much. It comes from within and it is indescribable.

True that the path we took made us who we are. I wouldn't want to change it, because, I guess if I took a different path, I would not have my girls. They mattered to me the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

totally agree!! pak pak pak cheerssssss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me to publish some stories I wrote about my name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would really love to read that. I'll wait for it ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm try to get to it today. It should be easy since it's already been written. There are 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be "Inday" but some people called me, "renren" especially people in here and also in noise.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha welcome to NotYourRealName club. This must be the thing now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha😅 It might be so true,..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many different choices, so many different paths, and it will never be satisfactory. The beauty lies in imperfection and honestly there is no such thing as perfect. The flaws need to be accepted and cherished. I think name whether real or unreal, it doesn't matter. It only helps in association and that's why is an important part of our interaction. Besides that, nada. I love the simplicity of your writing style. Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, nothing is perfect. We just have to accept the flaws and forgive ourselves if the choice we made didn't end well.

Thank you so much for passing by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dayum. I almost forgot my name. People call me "bloghound" for years of blogging and "wickedsoul" on Noise cash. Odd. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha cheers to another one who almost forgot the real name. It makes me wonder how many of them people with similar cases. In this internet age, we choose a name that we think suits us best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true. My friends call me Valour and Recently due to my username here, some call me Happy.

The last time I heard someone call me by my birth name it sounded so foreign. I was silent for some seconds and didn't know I was being called

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait, rejoice, I am not the only one who lost my name hahaha. It felt so weird, right? It felt like it belong to someone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes🤣 because even my parents and siblings call me by my nickname. It was weird and it sounded funny to my ear😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago