How my family communicate out needs during this time of pandemic, and last year's Lenten season

2 16
Avatar for smojojwang
1 year ago

During the first year of lockdown, it was really a tough time for everyone including my family especially the first weeks of lockdown. My father stopped working for weeks because of the strict protocols and checkpoints at that time. Thankfully, we still manage to have some savings and still provide for our daily necessities. No one expected the drastic changes brought by the pandemic to every family and other aspects of society. With this pandemic, we realize how we are blessed to have everything in our life which others don't even have. We are more than grateful for our life and value the life that we have as we see the increasing number of deaths per day. Despite all the fear and worry, we still manage to stay stronger and to think positively although it is inevitable to have negative thoughts. My family has more time to be together during this time pandemic and have conversations about different topics and situations. We bond more than we used to before because everyone is busy with their work or school. Now that we have at least control of our time, we are trying our best to treasure every moment that we have. Although sometimes, there are misunderstandings, no one wanted to make these arguments to prolong and eventually we reconcile and act as nothing happened. This Lenten season, we still in a lockdown, and it is unfortunate that because of the increasing number of COVID cases, the Churches were closed and only a few people can attend the mass. Thankfully, we can attend the holy week celebration through online mass. 

Sometimes, I am overwhelmed with my emotions and although I have everything in my life, negative emotions are just my enemy. I can’t stop myself from having negative thoughts and sometimes have some existential crisis. My mind is full of those thoughts that I eventually breakdown. Despite all that mental exhaustion, I always try my best to calm myself and to see the brighter side of my life. The thought of being alive and breathing is already a big blessing and that’s how I cope during these trying times. Also, having spiritual strengths is really a vital point to continue to live and be grateful for my life.

During this time of the pandemic, it is really a challenge for everyone in my family to cope with the changes happening in every aspect of our life. It is really difficult mentally and physically because the situation is uncertain and this causes us to think negatively. Although we are very much thankful for everything that we have, it is really inevitable to have some negative thoughts. Sometimes, we end up having arguments and misunderstanding due to tiredness from the workload that we each have as well as mental exhaustion. Also, seeing my parents work so hard every day even with the pandemic, my brother who is having a hard time finding a new job, and my siblings who are having a difficulty in their online classes adds to my existential crisis and question my worth as a person. We talked about various things but we rarely even talk deeply about how we feel maybe because it is awkward and embarrassing for us. Sometimes, I am overwhelmed with these kinds of thoughts but despite all the exhaustion, I always try my best to still see the brighter side of life. I know that everyone in my family is also tired but still they do the same. That the thought of being alive and breathing is already a big blessing and that’s how we cope during these trying times.

   


2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Avatar for smojojwang
1 year ago

Comments

Everyone of us had gone through the worst during pandemic. Me, I never thought I was strong. That I can be strong for my family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree with that. It is really difficult to cope up especially during those first half of emergence of the virus. No one was ready about that. I just hope everyone recovers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago