Random Questions - My Turn

13 85
Avatar for sleepyjey
2 years ago

"The reason I don't have Writers Block is that I am not a writer". This is a quote inspired by @Stea's musings in her article "Hear Me Out" which I couldn't resist using as a starting point for my article.

So I have been having trouble getting off the blocks on read.cash. I have managed to write some decent articles, but struggled to churn them out at a regular pace. With a busy weekend at work, I decided to break free from the shackles by answering random questions just to hone my skills and probably stimulate my brain cells enough to write something new.

This particular article is inspired by @bmjc98 who wrote this article.

The questions are from the link here.

I am picking 5 random questions to answer at this point. Maybe this will stimulate me to write part 2 sometime this year or decade! But before I launch into answering random questions, a big thank you to my sponsors!

Sponsors of sleepyjey
empty
empty
empty

1. What's your favorite season of the year?

There are three seasons we have - hot, hotter, and hottest. Hottest is about 40-45 degrees celsius - obviously, this is not my favorite. I do prefer December and January mainly because it is cool and there is the occasional sprinkle of rainfall that makes things very pleasant. The early mornings dip to below 20 degrees celsius and there are mist-covered hills visible from my balcony - and that's as goos as it gets in my hometown.

2. What's a bad habit you had that you've been able to overcome?

Swearing and bad language.

I have completely stopped using it in public and with friends for many years now. This is quite different from my school days when I used to be the good guy at home and throw in multiple 4-letter words in school. The decision to change it was inspired by good friends who made me realize it was unnecessary. I almost relapsed in college but managed to control it. Maybe my Sunday school teachers and church also indirectly helped by teaching me principles to help overcome things like this. The bad part is that those words have never left my lips, but they are still stored in my brain - I find that I do curse inwardly in some situations. I hope I figure out a way to stop that too.

3. What's your biggest regret?

My musical limitations.

I often regret that I did not develop my talent in music. In fact, I wrote about this in my article "Musically Regretful". I'll just quite one of the last lines from that article here - you can read the whole article to get a true feel of why I regret this.

"I do have regrets musically, but they only make me try harder. I feel disappointed that I haven't done as much as could have, but that has just inspired me to give my kids the best chances at music and let them go where they want to musically."

4. What's the wildest thing you've ever done?

Bungy Jumping!!

I did it in New Zealand in 2014. We were vacationing there and I simply was obsessed that I had to do it. It was on my bucket list because I knew friends who did it and I could not be the one who was in NZ and chickened out! I chose the Kawarau Bridge - the world's oldest bungy jumping area. I didn't feel nervous till I actually started getting strapped. My 3-year-old son was upset that he couldn't join us (duh!). My wife was praying fervently. I had to remove my glasses and everything was blurry - which was a good thing. I was wearing a bright red T-shirt. I watched people before me jump with ease, struggle and scream and even bail out. As I stood at the very edge, the clear blue water 43 meters below looked scary. I hesitated for a second and jumped. I screamed with a combination of exhilaration and fear and was soon bouncing up and down. I made the mistake of keeping my body stiff, which took away some of the exciting feelings I could have enjoyed. Soon I was on a boat and was walking up a million rickety steps with wobbling knees. I got a video, several photos, and a cheap tee for the achievement! It was wild and worth every dollar spent!

5. What's your favorite thing about yourself?

My humor.

I've always been the college joker, the guy who throws punchlines into any conversation and comes up with genuine one-liners and puns that can amuse people. I throw in humor at home, at work, and even at Church. I try not to cross limits and always keep it clean. Sometimes people roll their eyes, but usually, they laugh. In another life, I should have been a stand-up comedian. I recently called up a stand-up comedian to book him in for a show and his charges for 1 hour were more than my entire monthly pay! Darn! I missed that chance. When I ask my three-year-old daughter what she feels about her parents, she says, "Ma is pretty. Pa is funny". She is right on both counts!

So that's a little but about me and some, hopefully, interesting content for you to read here. Do answer these questions and write your own article. Have a great day!

3
$ 2.03
$ 1.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.01 from @Itsfarah
Sponsors of sleepyjey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sleepyjey
2 years ago

Comments

I think I've read that first sentence somewhere else.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've seen it in a lot of places too.Couldn't resist using it on my own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You read it on my post, which is very unfortunate. However, I haven't read it anywhere.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for pointing it out. I've credited/linked you as the first line - could you send the article link too so I can add it on. I've seen/heard this and variations in some small magazines and stand-up comedies. So thought it was a common thought. Apologies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

none of that it necessary, but you can read my article by the name, 'Hear me Out', 3rd para :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"The reason I don't have Writers Block is that I am not a writer" vs " I cannot claim that I'm experiencing 'writer's block'. I'm experiencing a block, just a block." Is this what you are referring to? Yes. They do have a common train of thought even though the lines are different. Rewrote my first para to reflect that ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would say I really love music but I also have limitations. I wanted to learn playing instruments tho. Hehe.. But unfortunately, I only do the basics. I mean I can only play few guitar chords and sometimes the piano, but still not been able to play a whole piece. :) Nice meeting you by the way.. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The basics are good enough to do things, but I too feel the lack of skill when I have to try things like play on stage or at church!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm.. You should give much effort to it tho. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to hear about you, So your humour is your favourite thing and that's great you avoided to use bad language and swearing in public. I also like December and January.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I assume that December and January are cooler months for you too. Yes, I'm glad I got over swearing early in my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never too late to develop in term of music

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am finding it tough to learn new things and also keep a sense of rhythm and beat - all essential if I want to lift the game!

$ 0.00
2 years ago