Scalextric Mercedes AMG gt3 - Slot Car Review

0 45
Avatar for skylinebuds
3 years ago

It has now been a week or so that I have made a post on the AMG. This was the first new Scalextric car I have bought. I really haven't bought many cars.

When it comes to Scalextric I find them to be great-looking cars with some fine details but I find the guide pin to be crap on all 3 Scalextric cars I own.

>Features & details

DPR - Digital Plug Ready- takes Scalextric C8515 digital Plug for easy upgrade to race on Scalextric digital Layouts

Car is highly detailed with full interior and racer.

Car has working Xenon effect headlights and working tail lights.

Easy change braid with magnatraction.

Compatible with all 1: 32nd scale Analog slot car race tracks, including ARC ONE and ARC AIR.

>Race: IMSA 2018 Drivers: Jeroen Bleekemolen / Ben Keating This wonderfully patrotic livery adorned the Riley Motorsports AMGs for the Watkins Glen round of the 2018 IMSA series

Source

Detail

The paint or liveries on this is a slot car is a nice American theme that is a common paint among this car.

Being Canadian of course, I would rather see that but that is not the case so maybe I can order another and make a Canadian livery.

The spoiler has some of the better detail I have seen on the few slot cars I have had the joy of racing.

The interior of this AMG is spot on with the roll cage and driver. The old used Scalextric I have are just blacked out windows, so that shows they have come a long way it the details.

Build

The build quality is great on the body and it seems the chassis seems like it has a solid build but I do have to say the Scalextric guides are not built very well. The guides on the charger and this AMG both seem to be very weak designs that seem to overstretch.

This doesn't seem to be a big problem for the Carrera tracks as they are deeper rails for the guides to slide in. The Scalextric are much thinner rail so the guides I think get stuck easier and overstretch.

The good thing about them is a place that has some guides called Frankenslot.

Digital

This car has a DPR meaning it is digital plug ready. The idea behind this is to add a digital board that will allow the car to run on a digital track or you can add the [Carson chip to get it to run off a Carrera digital track.

The main thing I like about digital cars in even an analog tracks the headlights and tail lights. This makes for a super great added effect at night time.

Video

As you can see in the videos the lights are killer when you race in the dark. The gt3 car also wrecks the Lamborghini Huracan. I am not sure if that's a class difference or a Carrera to Scalextric or maybe a magnet difference.

3
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for skylinebuds
3 years ago

Comments