Paths I have Overcome

9 45
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

It was since last year when I really wanted to go to Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) because of some financial circumstances we have. The university is known for producing high quality students and I wanted to be part of it. Aside from that, studying there is free. So, I have come to conclusion that the reason maybe these students are outstanding in class because they no longer need to worry on how they can earn money to pay their tuitions. Although not everyone, but most of the student's performance are really affected because of these worries and a lot of it are found on private schools.

And for now, let me share you the paths I have overcome before I have successfully pre-enrolled in ISAT U.

Application for ISAT

It was around March 2021 when I sent my application to ISAT U but before I was able to do it, I have to look for my files first which have been buried already in my messy room. I was able to find my Birth Certificate, Good Moral, old I.D. but my report card was missing. I tried to think hard of where have I possibly put it but still I was not able to find it. I told my girlfriend about it and good thing she has a soft copy of my report card. Finally, I'm saved!

I sent all of my files into their website and got my code for exam which was scheduled last week of April.

Preparation for Exam

After that, I relaxed for almost a week and spent the next week to study before the day of the exam. I have to be honest with you, I think I lost everything I have learned in High School because my mind was literally filled with Bitcoin Cash and Cryptocurrency thoughts. Damn, I hope I can get rid of it just for a week.

It took me a while before I finally get all of it out of my mind. I started studying by taking sample university exams in YouTube and from there, I learned what I need to focus on. As the days continue, I was finally feeling the excitement because I am getting good scores not by taking the same exams but different exams across YouTube. If ever I got the wrong answer, I took note of it then study it because it might come out in my real exam. The day before the exam, I can finally say, "I am ready!"

Struggles during the Exam

The exam will start at exactly 9 am, so I woke up early and got everything prepared before I set off going to ISAT U. It took me an hour before I finally reached the school and I was thirty minutes early. But I was so stressed because of too many checkpoints, I felt like I lost the excitement I was feeling that last night. I was already falling in line when I suddenly felt that I want to pee, so when it was my turn to enter the examination room, I was so eager to ask for the bathroom but before it happened, she asked me to verify myself. I have to present to the teacher my NBI clearance but she doubted so I gave her my voter's I.D. too. After that, she told me where to sit and I hurriedly ask her the location of the bathroom because I really wanted to pee already. She gave directions and finally I got to pee. It was a huge success!

When I went back to the room, the teacher was already checking attendance then after that she gave instructions. When the exam started, I was really confident but it started to fade-off as I go through some difficult questions. One hour have passed and I already finished answering English and Science. After I finished these two, I took a five-minute rest first through sleeping. Weird, but it is my tactic. I don't want to exhaust my brain. Well, during sleep, I count from 1-60 so I would know when to get up.

Five minutes have passed and now it is time for the final battle, Mathematics and Abstract Reasoning. Before we go on through the details, I want you to know that I hardly study on Mathematics but I spent some time memorising all of the formulas. I was confident in my skills but my confidence failed me. This was my fault! I didn't expect to actually have a hard time on some questions. Although, I managed to finished it before my time runs out, still I am not sure of my answers. I know I would have a lot of mistakes. So I went home with a sad face.

Interview

It was around June when I learned that I actually passed the exam. During that day, I was very happy and all I need to do now was to wait for the day of the interview. It should start 9:30 am in the morning but I woke up 7 am. After that, I cooked our breakfast which somehow took me long because I have to wait for my father who went to the market to buy the ingredients for our breakfast. I finished around 9 am and I didn't eat my breakfast because I need to fix myself and wore my formal attire.

During the interview, I was just so relaxed and feeling happy because all of the questions that I expected to be asked was asked. You can say, I am really prepared but things have changed when Sir Lazarte asked me Math questions. He also instructed me to answer it mentally, so I was trembling already after he said that. I was not prepared for this! The first and second questions were easy but I had troubles answering the third and fifth questions. After the interview, I felt my energy was suddenly drained. I know that I really messed up with the two questions. I felt so sad again.

Sad Results

Around third week of July when the results were posted. As expected, the Math questions dragged me down. I still can't believe it though, so again, my depression went back. I was so shamed to tell my parents the results because I know they would really feel sad, disappointed or angry. I kept it as a secret for only ten says because my sister showed the results to my mother. She was really angry though and was telling me "it was because I didn't study anymore and got hooked to my phone." My situation is helpless. I felt that my world collapsed around me. I disappointed the people who put their trusts on me that I can do it. I was a failure!

After two weeks of giving myself enough time to ponder, I decided to continue my education on my previous school but I have to earn enough money first. I made some plans and that is going to BPO companies applying as a call center agent. But before I did that, I went to church last Sunday. I asked guidance from Him. I usually do it especially if I am not sure. Yes, I am still not sure that I can apply as call center agent so I really really badly need guidance.

Unexpected Message

After the mass, we went to our favourite milk tea store (Tearawi). Since there were so many people falling in line, we have to wait.

Around thirty minutes have passed, I received a message from an unknown number.

YES! A MESSAGE FROM ISAT U asking me if I can fill in the available slots in Mechanical Engineering. I was actually doubting if it is true or maybe just some wrong sent message. I don't want to expect though and get my hopes up so I ignored the message. The next morning, I think it was really not some wrong sent message so I replied them that I want their offer. We talked to messenger and called through phone but sadly they passed me to Electronics and Communication Engineering Department to fill in the available slots. It was okay for me thou, as long as I can get free education, it is no problem to me. Maybe an hour have already passed because there were a lot of issues about me since I was a transferee students and some issues in my card. After an hour again, they decided to accept me after proving I'm worthy of this slot.

I was really really happy and I can't explain how thankful I am. My heart was pounding fast with joy. It was already around lunch time so I went to my parents, joined them and told them that I was accepted in ISAT U but in a different course. I was expecting a congratulations from them but I haven't. Instead I get a lot of queries from them.

The next day, I sent my requirements and everything was all perfect. And as of now, I am waiting for the opening of classes.

Moral Lesson

"You can never be too sure unless there's God who took part in your doubts."

My failures were failures because I haven't included God in them. The path of failures I have walked where I have left God. But God will never abandon us and He will always be there to guide us again. Just like in my life, I have realized that I haven't really involved God in my decisions and actions which resulted to failures. But I am still really happy because again He picked me up when I was groping in the dark. He gave me hope. That's why I promise that the paths I am going to take now are paths with God walking beside me. He is truly great!

This article is free from plagiarism.

7
$ 7.40
$ 7.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Eirolfeam2
+ 4
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

Congratsuu. Nadinig ata prayer mo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ate 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, thats a lot of ups and downs and I felt your every emotion in this post, I was sad, exhausted and finally happy... God bless you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. It was really a lot of ups and downs. May God Bless you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Congrats and Good luck with your college journey. Kayang kaya mo yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaya nga ng sabi ko, kakayanin.. salamat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag talaga para sayo, para sayo yan, gagawa ng way si God kaya have faith lang. Congrats gah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahay, amazing talaga ni God nang.. thank you ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago