First Iloilo Bitcoin Cash Meetup

4 194
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Hello everyone :)

I am glad to announce that Iloilo(my city) is having it's first Bitcoin Cash Meetup on March 21, 2020.

Introduction

Bitcoin Cash is not very popular in my city and in fact, only a very few people know about its existence. Last January, I started educating the elders of the town next to us and I failed.

But that didn't stop me from spreading Bitcoin Cash here. I started building Bitcoin Cash Teens PH which is a group of teenagers learning, earning and sharing Bitcoin Cash. I find it easy to talk to them and discuss Bitcoin Cash. Our number is very few which is around 120. Most of them aren't active since they are still busy in school but when I talked to them, they are very interested in Bitcoin Cash.

Last time, I introduced Bitcoin Cash to Youth Ministry members. I was very happy of the results. After that, I feel like organising a meetup since no meetup has been organised in Iloilo yet.

With the guidance of @Akane, I have finally understood that I am capable of organising such meetup. The meetup was supposed to be exclusive only to teenagers however Akane Yokoo made me realize that I should open them also to everyone. Now, everything is set.

The goal of this meetup is to gather more people and discuss Bitcoin Cash.

Iloilo Bitcoin Cash Meetup Token

I have read several articles here sharing about their meetup tokens. I find it very helpful and useful. So, I decided to make our own meetup token too.

I created it using mint.bitcoin.com and it was very easy as usual.

Ticker: IBCM

Token Name: Iloilo Bitcoin Cash Meetup

Token ID: c1d72ce89300fc7afa4377b9897308617c8ff3a3da3a15010b08631502af5481

I am distributing these to the attendees of the meetup and they can receive this only during meetup in Iloilo.

The Discussion

I am very thankful that Akane guided me. My initial plans was organising this meetup in a store that accepts Bitcoin Cash. I was asking for some tips if how am I suppose to convince/encourage a store owner to accept Bitcoin Cash. 'Coz I like the idea that Akane shared in Twitter: "Getting more merchants adopt Bitcoin Cash using meetups" the idea is organising your meetup in a store that doesn't accept Bitcoin Cash then made them do so because they will have customers that pays in Bitcoin Cash. It wasn't the actual words but it is what I can remember.

I asked her about that to do the same thing here and she recommended that we can do it later. So we are doing it soon.

Future plan(s)/Goal(s)

  • Consistency on Monthly Meetups

  • Encourage more people to use Bitcoin Cash

  • Merchant adoption

Special thanks to;

Akane Yokoo for bringing reality into this meetup

Ma'am Monica for the graphics

SatoshiAngels for sponsoring this meetup

3
$ 1.57
$ 1.00 from @nyusternie
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.25 from @Read.Cash
+ 1
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Comments

Excellent! Lots of photos .. or it never happened ;-)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Will post the photos here if the meetup is done. Btw, thanks for the upvote 😉

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice work!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks George ♥️♥️♥️

$ 0.00
4 years ago