Softball

0 12
Avatar for sheisvang077
1 year ago

It's the last inning and everyone was looking at the batter on the plate, about to take a swing at the incoming ball.

Alas, she swung and hit the ball so hard that it went over to the distant school adjacent to mine.

The crowd erupted with shouts of "Homerun", while the fielders scrambled for the ball.

It was the most exhilarating experience I had watching a game.

I was 9 and it was a division meet where my Ma umpired for the West District players.

I fell in love with the sport, right then and there. It was a love at first match.

After the event, I went to school everyday with a new vigor.

Each day I played baseball with the boys. (I couldn't do something with the softball game since I was still in elementary and you can only play when you're in high school) Blame it on the system. :D

I watched a lot of softballs and baseballs on ESPN, mind you. Shouting and ranting as if I'm in the same crowd as the onlookers on the field. I couldn't get to high school fast enough.

Anyhow, High School came at last.

I didn't get to play when I was in freshman year. I was having a hard time adjusting to a life of a high schooler. Assignments and tests, and socializations, it seems I was the only who didn't want to grow up. I was waylaid by such distractions that's why I forgot about my passion for a while.

Second year of high school came and schools' annual sports arrived. A friend of mine invited me to try out and I remembered clearly what it was I wanted so much to be part of. Although at that time, juniors and seniors where the ones micromanaging sports teams and I only got a short stint playing softball. So I opted for basketball and tracks, biding my time.

Alas, Junior High School came and I got the best year of my life. A teacher and the coach of our team knew I played the game and made me play. She saw my potential and made me captain of our team. Imagine that at Third Year High School. Ha! Not only that, I became the first Junior to be the Captain of our school's varsity team.

My love for softball is evident in how I play.

That feeling when you step on the plate and you can already imagine where your ball is going and how the other team is going to scramble to get to it. I can't even see the crowd or hear the noise. All I know is that when I am on the field, I feel invincible. I love that rush when I throw or pitch a ball and the batter can't hit it or when I step on the batting plate and hear the swish of the ball as it comes to me. I love the sound of the ball as it hits the bat, as I swing it and it connects and I get to have my home run dance. I love the coordination of team players and the camaraderie. I love how synched and in tuned we were to each other. The stillness of the crowd as it waits for the strong batter or the best player of the team step on the plate. Or the fast ball that reaches the highest mph ever thrown.

Albeit it to say, I did have a lot of sprains and pains during my time playing the game. But no one can take me away from that field in my High School years.

Suffice it to say, I did get to play in the regionals and meet a lot of like minds. Crowds don't scare me when I'm in the field. Whatever they chant, whether they're rooting for us or the other team, doesn't matter to me. All I know is that rush that comes to me every time I'm on the field. It felt like I was home.

Now that I'm in my mid life, I remembered it so well like it was yesterday and I never could regret those years of my life.

________________________________________________

________________________________________________

2
$ 0.30
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
Avatar for sheisvang077
1 year ago

Comments