A friend

0 19
Avatar for shamrye17
2 years ago

This article is based on my own experience.

When I used to stay in Iloilo City here in Philippines, we had a neighbor there with a dog. The dog is just small, but I'm not sure if he's pure Shih Tzu. His fur is mixed color of dark and light brown. His eyes were very meek and seemed to speak. Actually, I don't know his name but I know his gender, so I call him baby dog.

Image source: LoveYorDog.com

Every time I go to the store, I always pass by where he lives. I felt sorry for him because he didn't seem to be taken care of properly. His hair was long and matted. His eyes were always looking at me as if asking for help. So I asked another neighbor who owned the dog. I would like to talk to the real owner, but there's no chance. Someone also advised me to just let it go because it might cause trouble. I didn't interfere anymore because first of all it's not my place, not my territory.

Whenever I pass by, I always give him food. He wagged his tail and he's letting me to touch him. Even if they tell me not to touch him because it's dirty or he might bite me, I don't care!. Because I know that he is very tender and loving dog. I always visit him before going to work. It's an everyday routine and we're getting close since then.

One day, I took a different path because I was in a hurry that day so I didn't have a chance to see him. A few hours ago someone called me saying that our neighbor's house was on fire. And that house is where my dog friend lives. I was suddenly thinking about him. I'm very worried and restless.

I was not mistaken, he was burned. When I came home, I talked to the owner. He said, after he saved his family, he planned to release the dog but it's too late. I was very upset. I also regretted that I did not pass in front of their house before the accident. I feel sorry for him not because he has a breed. My heart was touched by his condition with his owner because he was not taken care of very well. I also don't blame them if he wasn't saved because of course they will prioritize those with them at home.

I was very sad that day, no one else helped to get him from being chained. He was just in front of the house. Since then, I have never walked down their street again. All I want to remember is that time he was still alive. For me, he's not just a dog, he is my friend.

Image source: shutterstock.com

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for shamrye17
2 years ago

Comments