Sleep Paralysis

5 33
Avatar for sham
Written by
3 years ago

Who among you experience sleep paralysis?

Sleep paralysis is when you cannot move or speak as you are waking up or falling asleep. It locks a person in a weird state between waking and dreaming, where they can't move but might experience odd hallucinations.

My Experience

I’ve been experiencing it always, I and my sister always experience sleep paralysis. It is the feeling that you can’t breathe, you are thinking that you are shouting as loud as you can asking for help but according for my sibling I am only moaning.

I have lots of experience and i'd like to share this one;

There is one time that I am on a vessel I am travelling alone from my vacation in our province going back to manila and it was 8 to 10 hours from 5 in the afternoon to 2 am. I am sleeping on a single double deck, i am at the lower deck and someone is above the upper deck, since I am aware that I am always having a sleep paralysis I am afraid to sleep, but when drowsiness really calls you, you really can't stop it. Around 11 o’clock I found myself having a sleep paralysis, I couldn’t breathe and move but I’m trying my best, in my mind I am thinking that I am with my siblings and I am really calling for them. Luckily someone above the double deck were I was sleeping jump down while the other man that was near our deck try to wake me up. I am very much thankful to them, after that I never slept again even drowsiness was really calling me. I just stay awake until the vessel reaches the port.

Every time that I experience these, it last for seconds; sometimes I am nearly coming to lose hope when there is no one coming for me to wake me up. I remember I begun praying to our Lord, that if this is the end of my life I will accept and more than willing to offer it and that is where I would wake up. Whenever I am having this sleep paralysis the only name that I remember that I was calling always is my mother. Whenever they asked me about the dreams that turns into nightmares and cause sleep paralysis, I can’t remember anything, my mind was totally blocked the only thing that I know is I can’t move and I am shouting as loud as I can. Sometimes these paralysis is persistent, after you wake up and fall asleep again it will happen again; the sleepiness is calling, after that you can feel that your body was so heavy that even moving any fingers are really hard and later you'll be shouting as loud as you can but nobody can hear you.

So it is recommended that, once you wake up, you should drink lots of water before going to sleep again. Do not forget to offer some prayers and asked protection to our Lord before going to bed as we close our eyes.

How about you guys, what are your experience regarding sleep paralysis? Can you share it with us…



21
$ 0.14
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for sham
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I experienced this before for a couple of times already. But I know, this is not a dream, and sleep paralysis is not really harmful to us. It is a normal part of the Rapid Eye Movement. It occurs when you passes between stages of your wakefulness and sleep. Based on my experience, I suffered this sleep paralysis, every time I was very sleepy but preventing my eyes to close to fall asleep. And just like what you did, when experiencing this, I just pray and pray until I wake up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do experience sleep paralysis everytime I'm tired or stressed too. And it's really scary.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh, imagine you cant for second's..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I am really scared every time this happens to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago