Between Covid & Blood Clot

2 26
Avatar for sh33la
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Coronavirus

I am sitting here a little stunned but mostly incredulous. 

With the Astra Zeneca vaccine brouhaha, countries either banning or putting it on hold, people in my country were shocked that the gov was going ahead and bringing it in anyways. Well, at first...

Oh, what deal did he make?

He must be pocketing a lot of money from it?

It is all political!

When it was shelved the nation let out a sigh of relief. We didn't have to choose between covid and blood clot anymore.

A few days later, there was an Opt-In for AZ announcement. Surely, no one would be interested right? But when registration started, boom, within 4 hours, slots were gone.

Wait! What?! There were people not afraid of AZ? There were people willing to take the chance? The blood clot possibility did not scare the bejeebers out of them?

I know friends, close friends who signed up. They along with local celebrities and public figures started posting social media updates. They brought their viewers along with them to experience the vaccine journey, took pictures and videos to share, gave tips and advice for those going in after them.

Then there was talk of another batch to be released for round two of Opt-In. This time it was split into two by age. First for those over 60 and three days later, under 60.

Dad wanted in as he had missed his first appointment earlier in the month. Also, with his siblings signing up and taking their shots, he didn't want to wait for the callback (after his miss of the first appointment for Pfizer). We had another chat about AZ, I explained everything I knew of it and then with him wanting to go ahead anyways, helped sign him up 4 hours after registration opened. It was a breeze.

But when they opened registration for the under 60, there was chaos. First, it was announced registration would open at noon on 26th May. Then on the day, it was reannounced registration will start at 12.15.

The Hubs wanted to sign up and was on standby. In fact, he wanted in the first time around but did not expect slots to be grabbed within 4 hours and by the time he came home to ask me if I would be ok with it, it was over.

He sat at the kitchen table and tried to get in on the action. Went through different stages on the app with it hanging or getting kicked out. Then he'd start again and did that for over an hour until he was slapped with a no-more-slots! Out of luck again...

After that, it was announced, that there will be no more opt-ins and the remaining AZ will now be included with the rest of the vaccines in our NIP (National Covid-19 Immunisation Programme).

Now, that I've told you how the acceptance of the AZ went down in my country, let me tell you about the people I personally know who, through all my conversations kept saying No to AZ. Ok, one in particular.

The theories and news that she had read. Then her doctor friends and family members had said this and that. I will not repeat the things I was told because surely now that she had gone ahead and registered for the opt-in, it is redundant.

I was amused that she was so excited that she managed to get a slot. Apparently, she had been on stand-by and kept refreshing the page until she got through. Even lunch was shelved for it. After getting through, she tells me that it was like striking a lottery.

Huh!! Wait! Weren't you the same person who was convinced that you were going to wait? You wanted others to take theirs first so you can see how it plays out. You were prepared to not travel for the next three years if it came to that. That you were shocked that our country was going ahead with the AZ even after all they knew about the blood clots. Your "trusted sources" have told you that there are better ones coming and you will wait till year-end if need be.

The last time we talked which was just a couple of days back, you were like NOT Me. And now you are celebrating like you won the lottery?! That flipped fast!!

Oh well. I am happy for her. Maybe her trusted sources had come back with more information... who knows. I did not ask, because apart from putting her on the defensive, it didn't really serve a purpose. It's done.

I did want to let it off my chest though, and I know she isn't on any crypto social media platforms. I do want to keep her as my bestie :D Besides, she isn't the only one who flip-flopped. There were so many who were against it and then did a 180°.

FOMO is real. Watching their friends and celebrities sharing their experience on Social Media got them. It even makes me wonder if there was some sort of a plan coz they had IG friendly spots in the centre. And if it was orchestrated to help those who were still shifty and negative to crossover... well done.

Currently, I am waiting to be informed of my slot as and when via NIP. I am okay with waiting and let it take its course. Here's to families who live in different counties, states, districts(as of now) meeting. Video Calls are all good, but nothing like clinking glasses for a real toast, pinching food from each other's plate for a taste, nowhere close to the warmth of a real hug.

So, where are you at with the vaccine? Either way, I'd like to know because where's the fun if I am not feeding my Libran fickleness ;p


Lead Image: Photo by Artem Podrez from Pexels

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for sh33la
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Coronavirus

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm subscribe you and you subscribe me please

$ 0.00
2 years ago