Urbiztondo beach, San Juan La Union. Philippines

18 260
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Good day guys!

It's really depressing that the cases of Covid 19 in our City called Baguio are rising. I thought it would decrease sooner or later so we could live a normal life and go on adventures. To compensate for this depressing mood let me share with you my experiences in one of the beaches located here at Northern Luzon, Philippines.


URBIZTONDO BEACH SAN JUAN LA UNION Surfing Capital of the Northern Philippines



During the Southeast Asian (SEA) Games that happened last year, they held the surfing competition here at Urbiztondo beach. According to this article the best time to go there is during the months of July to March. Whenever we go visit La Union with friends or family. This is where we usually go to. It's usually a 1/2 to 2 hour drive coming from Baguio depending on the traffic. It's around a 64 kilometer drive to go there if you pass by Naguilian Road.

This is really a fun place to go to because there are a lot of activities that you can do. You can rent surf boards, body boards and skim boards depending on what you want to use. You can even have surf lessons if you want. I remember that we used to play volleyball with the other beach goers. There are actually a lot of tourists who go here especially when it's surf break which usually celebrated at the end of October.

I remember one experience when we traveled here after work with only one extra pair of clothes and stayed over night at the beach. We bought some drinks from a convenience store and laid a mat at the sand and stayed there. We were just partying all night, I drank too much that I actually blacked out and just woke up with the brightness of the sun wondering where did all the tables and people because the beach was empty.

Thank God for my workmates and girlfriend for taking care of all of us that night. We actually named it our YOLO trip. Before blacking out I remember that the people really care for this beach because there came a time where people were holding sacks and flashlights looking for bottles and litter around the beach and they were disposing it.


There are a lot of restaurant and places to stay in this beach. Here are some of them.

Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

This is one of the luxurious places that you can stay in Urbiztondo. You can book here once the pandemic is over. Me and my colleagues went there just to eat breakfast after the night of drinking.

As soon as I entered the restaurant, I saw a big TV where you can watch sports. The bar looked like classy place to stay.


While waiting for the food I was walking around and checking this resort out. They had a lot of plants and they even had an infinity pool. but the best thing was the view from there.


This was what I ordered. I ordered Beef Tapa which came with two eggs, garlic rice and atchara.

Flotsam and Jetsam

This is a very popular place here in Urbiztondo beach. It's a hostel that has a restaurant and a bar. Whenever it's surf break this place is really jam packed with people, I remember that we had to bail out staying there because there were too many people. But when we visited it, the ambiance was very relaxing. It gave me a hipster vibe. We actually went here because of our Doctors treated us for being an early bird.


Upon entering you would see a lot of signs. They were also strict with regard to entering this place.

As soon as you go through the entrance, you would be shocked on how beautiful this place looks like.


You would have a choice of where you wanted to sit either in a mat, small table, bin bag or regular tables. One advantage of people who have pets is that they are pet friendly.

When we ordered food, this was the setup of the bar. Whoever designed this place is really cool. It's very artsy where everything just looked pleasant to look at.

This was the snack that we ordered before driving up to Baguio. We ordered meathead pizza and Hawaiian. The only drawbacks of this place is the prices in their menu. It's expensive, but I guess you are like paying for it for the place. This is a really nice place to hangout


Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

7
$ 2.13
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @LucyStephanie
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Comments

my barangay!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love your barangay! I wish to go there again when it's not that strict anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa ang Baguio malapit sa La Union. Love the beach. Haaaay. Am planning to go there but there's no bus going to provinces. Huhu. Sad life. Daily trips via vans are expensive so I don't know maybe I will not go to my passport appointment there...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kahit malapit po sa La Union ung problema namin hindi rin kami makapunta diyan dahil naging strikto na sila. I also miss the beach like how you miss it too hehehe. Sayang talaga ngayon. Hopefully this will all end that that you'll be ableto visit the beach soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww ganun pala. Sad life. Iniisip ko nga san ba makakarenta ng mura diyan para maka-beach. hahaha. haaay life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

PS. I was surprised when I saw your article's title on my notification. I felt proud of my hometown. 😃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already miss your hometown. It's actually our getaway spot from the City. I miss La Union and the beach soo much!! I hope this pandemic will end soon. Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow 😮😮 I'm from San Fernando, the town before San Juan. We always went there before the lockdown.

Your photographs are amazing as always. 💕 And yeah, Flotsam is expensive but every corner is really instagramable. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's cool! I love the sunsets in San Fernando hehehe

Thanks for all the compliments. I agree with what you said with Flot Sam

Stay safe always!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks very peaceful and relaxing. Nice photos and very good article overall. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for all your kind compliments. May you stay safe always

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome. Keep up the good work and keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Depression reigns. This is my worst summer in my life. I travel virtually and dream of new landscapes. Thank you for brightening my day in the photos. BEACH SAN JUAN LA UNION Philippines is a fantasy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know the feelings of a very depressing summer. We are all facing it hehe. I hope that this will all end soon that we are going to be able to live our normal lives again and travel. Thanks for dropping by and stay safe always

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful and clean pictures of this place. I have never visited the Philippines but one of the following destinations could be just that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Imagine someone reads this in 5, 10 or even 20 years. Do you believe what "the cases in your city" are, refer to? I don't by the way.

A present journey or one out of the past, they all are welcome.

I wonder what the great thing about traveling is if you past out. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for pointing that out, I fixed it.

Thank you so much

Don't worry I passed out during the night, that was around 3am to 6 am. I was able enjoy the view of the beach upon waking up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago