The Destruction of Termites

3 20
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Good day!

This past week, I noticed that there are insects having their nuptial flight every night. They usually come after it rains or the day after it rained. If you don't know what those are in the photo, they are flying termites.

When we saw this with my brother and cousin, we were like " What the hell why are there so much of them". I think that they were getting ready for a nuptial flight. A nuptial flight is when they leave their nest to start new colonies. I noticed that durign a nuptial flight they swarm and they are attracted to light. I read before that when the termites already mated they shed off their wings and I noticed when I look at the ground they usually walk by pairs looking for a place. Whenever we see them flying around our light bulb we immediately turn off our lights so they wouldn't swarm near our house because it would be a hassle to clean all those wings. The worse thing that could happen is when they infest your house.

Growing up my brothers and cousins used to play with them, by killing them. We used to bring out our badminton rackets and swing at them, I remember that our forearms would hurt the next day after all the swinging. We also would throw them at spider web and watch them get eaten by the spider and throw them at our aquarium so the fish could eat them. We also used to use alcohol/ deodorant/ hairspray and a lighter to make a mini flamethrower

burning them. It just felt so satisfying to do this.

Here's a clip of them flying towards us because we turned on our flash flight

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VLIfQ0vaYg&feature=youtu.be

Here's another video of us burning them while they were in that pile.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpG1EOgIdxk&feature=youtu.be

It was really fun watching them burn.

If you're wondering why I hate them so much, let me show you what happened to our room with my older brother. It all started with this mound that we found in the back of our bookshelf. There was a space in between our bookshelf and wall and I noticed that the gap was full of soil. We pulled out the shelf and saw this mound.

It was huge and there were a lot of termites in the tunnels. The way they built it looked cool but the damages done wasn't. We immediately removed the mound and the wooden panels in our wall.

This was our book shelf. I remember that some of our books were eaten. Just look at how destructive they are.

After 2 years, I was wondering what were those noises coming from the walls, I noticed that there were small holes with termites coming out. I remember I just sprayed pesticide it was okay until a few days but then something bad happened after a few days.

They had a nuptial flight in our room, there were swarms of termites flying around my room.

Below is a video of the nuptial flight. Btw that's my cousin battling all those flying termites.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fx-i3G_DoY&feature=youtu.be

Because of this we were forced to remove all the wooden panels in our room.

Just look at how they ate the panels

I think they have been silently growing in our room for the past years before they made their presence felt.

This will be one experience that I will never forget and I don't want it to happen again. I'll make sure that my future house will be made out of a material that termites can't eat. I hope that you guys won't experience something like this.

Thanks for reading and stay safe always!

All photos used in this post were taken and are owned by me.

2
$ 0.53
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing this information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see termites are very large pests. It can take a lot of time and money to eliminate them. We don't have termites at all, so we don't have a problem with them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes they truly are and I hate them Haha. That's great that you don't have termites, i hope you wont experience this in the future. Thank you so much for dropping by and stay safe always

$ 0.00
3 years ago