Nat'l Barbie Day: Barbie Girl In A Barbie World

4 38
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago
Photo from Pixabay

Today marks a special day of an iconic character that captivates the heart of many individuals, especially the kids everywhere else on the globe. It is National Barbie Day, and this is what we are going to talk about in today's episode of Senyoritalks.

It was on the 9th day of March in the year 1959 when a very attractive bombshell toy debuted at American International Toy Fair in New York. It was Barbie, and since then, it has become famous and started having overwhelming demand. Well, who wouldn't be captivated by its attractive features?

As a child, have you ever played barbie dolls before? There's nothing wrong with whether you are a boy or a girl because, in fact, it has a male counterpart known as Ken. And even before, I have been singing its lyrics even though I can't still pronounce well some of the words in its lyrics. The song is entitled Barbie Girl, a song by a Danish dance-pop group known as Aqua, which was released in 1997. It's more than two decades already since the day it was released, yet it is still one of my favorites and of others as well.

I'm a Barbie girl in the Barbie world. Life in plastic it's fantastic. You can brush my hair, undress me everywhere. Imagination, life is your creation.

This song is pretty much famous too in Tiktok, and did you know that on the 14th day of August in the year 2018, an American Singer known as Ava Max released a promotional single entitled Not Your Barbie Girl? And in this song, you may notice the twist.

Not your barbie girl, I'm livin' in my own world. I ain't plastic, call me classic. You can't touch me there, you can't touch my body. Unless I say so, ain't your barbie, no.

Anyway, In 1959, the first commercially available Barbie dolls were released. It was love at first sight for a lot of kids, as well as their parents. As this was Ruth Handler's year, she came up with what was is now the most mainstream fashion doll ever.

Based on some research I did, I found out that Barbie was named after Ruth Handler's daughter Barbara. At the time, the majority of girls were still occupied with paper or paperboard cutouts as their primary toy. Little girls' desire for playthings and role-playing options was quickly overshadowed by the number of baby dolls accessible in retail stores.

Screenshot via NationalToday.com

I know a girl who is a huge fan of barbie dolls, and it has helped her with a lot of her creative endeavors. For starters, it piqued her sense of fashion and design, and she's always been drawn to the visual arts. After she got her first Barbie, she continued to play with them, dressing her with different clothes hand-sewn by her. Aside from sewing the clothes, she made them herself using scraps of fabric that she had around the house.

Of course, there are those who hate it and telling negative things. But it is really nice to hear from women who were inspired by Barbie to succeed in all areas of life, including making new friends and finding fruitful jobs. Ruth Handler and Mattel, the company, founded by Ruth Handler, developed one of the biggest and best role models for young girls. In the toy industry, sales speak for themselves, as Barbie dolls continue to be the best-ever moneymakers in this industry.

Overall, a lot of people don't like Barbie because of the way her body looks. Barbie, on the other hand, is a doll that is meant to be dressed up in different outfits, not to resemble a human being. She appears more normal when she is dressed in various dresses. If we can take the positives from this, we can look forward to achieving our dreams in the future. And when it comes to your children, make sure they understand the value and purpose of it, rather than the other way around. Regardless, have a wonderful National Barbie Day!

4
$ 3.34
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Sponsors of senyoritakayzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago

Comments

I love dolls too before and I named it lotlot. There are lots of kids I know who have dolls too and we play together before like combing their hair and so on and so forth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's nice to hear that. I, too, like combing my doll's hair before. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know that it's barbie day today, I remember that our playmates before have lots of barbie dolls and we boys join in them but we using barbies as our soldiers and fighters then we gonna fight using those barbies hahaha. Truly, barbies are influenced lots of people, some artist are engage on plastic surgery and body modification in order to achieve the barbie look and body.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just found it out too after looking for event today in google. Anyway, I like how creative you are in making a twist to the dolls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago