What Skills Did You Learn This Pandemic?

23 49
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

“What skills did you learn this pandemic?”  

 This question was asked by one of the hosts on a television program I often watch in the morning. When the pandemic happened many people were forced to stay at home and most people cannot just sit by and do nothing, most of us wants to make the most out of our time. So a lot of people are trying everything that might entertain them even at the comfort of their own home. There are those who tried to enhance their skills such as dancing, singing, drawing or painting, cooking and other skills. They usually take pictures and videos and uploads it on social media. One time, there’s this meme that says the community quarantine is actually “Quarantine Got Talent.”

So I gave the question a thought and decided to write about it.

Writing Blogs. Since I was younger, I already love to write. When I was a child, I find it really hard to communicate my thoughts and feelings to others, even to my own parents. Since we were never emotionally close, and I don’t have any close friend to share my thoughts with, I just write it all on a diary. I feel that it is better to write about my feelings than tell people about it, because when you write, the pen and paper will never condemn or judge you. So I started to like free writing. One time, I even contributed an article that was published in our school paper. But due to being busy with school works and later on with my daytime job, I forgot about writing my journals as I no longer have time to do it. Add the fact, that when I have a few time on my hand, I’d rather read stories on Wattpad or watch dramas. And I’d rather spend my day offs on volunteering and doing kind acts. But when the pandemic happened, I remembered my passion for writing again. I became tired of browsing social media every day and I want to do something to ease my boredom, so I started writing instead, and just in time, I also discovered read.cash.

At first, I was still skeptical if I could write and publish an article, so my first articles here were weird and funny. However, there is a saying that says “practice makes perfect”, since the day I logged in here at read.cash and published an article, I learned more to improve my blogs. Yes, I admit that my blogs are not yet on professional level, but I'm glad because somehow my mind doesn't become stagnant, and I think that my way of writing has improved quite a lot.

Studied and learned the Spanish language. I have Spanish roots and I often hear my late paternal grandparents using some Spanish words during our conversations. Since then, I became curious about the language but, being busy with more important stuffs in life made me forget about that curiosity. When I graduated from in college, there was a party at home, and we had Latino visitors from Spain who came with my cousins to visit the Philippines. It’s fun listening to them whenever they talk, and it revived my curiosity about the Spanish language. I started studying since then but unable to focus because of work. Then the pandemic came, and I was bored at home every day, so I thought: “why not continue learning the language?” So I started studying and learning the language again, and I can now somehow understand it and engage in basic conversations.

These are just two of the skills that I enhanced and learned during this pandemic. When we think of the pandemic, we often associate it with negative words, and we only focus on the downside. But if you think about it, there are also positive results that we reaped if we just try to look on the positive aspects of life.

How about you? What skills did you learn this pandemic?

 

10
$ 13.21
$ 12.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 3
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think this pandemic helped me with my life skills initiative, flexibility,productivity and social skills specially because I became active in some church activities. This pandemic taught us that even in some uncanny and unpleasant situation great things could really happen we just need to look for the bright side of it! Because that's life it would always be unpredictable and all we can do is just to trust the process.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I find it amazing that this Pandemic has helped you to create new skills, this article makes us understand that even in the worst of times, great things can happen.

Undoubtedly writing is a virtue and an art, which requires work, dedication and patience, and from what I can see dear friend, you are on the right track, because you know how to focus your ideas, you know how to convey the message and most importantly you write in a way that the reader is hooked and wants to read more.

I find it incredible, that you are learning Spanish, my respects, like you I share Spanish roots, however I am Latin American, I was born in Venezuela, Spanish is not an easy language, but it is certainly quite fun and nice to know, I hope you continue with this, and improve a lot, I would love to have a conversation with you in Spanish.

Like you, this Pandemic helped me to get started in the world of writing, at first it was a way to generate income to cope with the economic crisis in my country, but then I fell in love, writing, writing, telling stories, that my words reach the soul of many people, and here I am, create this digital channel, and still in love with writing, although of course, I am more to communicate orally, but writing has become my ally, and no doubt we must continue working to improve ourselves.

I wish you all the best, I hope you continue learning new skills and that the quality of your articles increase every day, you are doing a good job and that deserves a great recognition, greetings my beautiful friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This comment is like an article! 😅 It's nice to see you on this site too friend! By the way, I also have a Latino friend from Venezuela and the way you write your comments, you remind me so much of him! hehe. And this is out of topic but, I think that thing called "cariño" or flattery that my Latino friend told me about is really innate on you guys :)

Hope I can be patient with myself and be able to converse with anyone in the Spanish language without the help the translator.

Thanks for reading my article, and for the nice feedback too. Greetings!

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hahaha sorry for having extended my dear friend, is that I loved your article, that's funny that, no doubt we like to treat people well and with affection, is something that we are born, we like the interaction to be as pleasant as possible, you will see that yes, everything we propose, we can achieve, I love to talk to you in Spanish. (Cuidate y ten un increible día).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tyo . Bata palang ako nagsusulat na ako. Di din Kasi ako palakibo at thru writings ko naexpress feelings ko.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Totoo talaga na yung mga madalas na di kumikibo ay yung mga ang daming gustong sabihin. hehe Minsan kasi mas mabuti pang isulat mo na lang yung gusto mo sabihin para walang kokontra haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hola!!! lol just kidding, I don't know spanish, anyway in the first lockdown, I managed to try and play the ukulele, it was fun it was good, but it was not for me, I still need to hear that bassline strum.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Holaaaaa! That's also good. I want to learn to play a musical instrument too, but music seems not to like me haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hahah same. :) I just you know, know the chords and stuff but, don't really how to use them freely. Most times, they just seem all alike to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that's the thing about learning a new skill. At first, it may seem like you are only learning the basics and it may be frustrating. But as you continue to learn, you'll get better.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Been practicing the guitar since I was a child, but still.. I'm as a newbie as I was back then. I could only play a single song at a period of time, if I learn another, I'll forget the old one. LOL I'm weird.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gnun ata mostly ang mga batang 90s jeje. Ksi d pa uso ang gadgets at journal ang in. I even tried to write ng prang sa pocketbook pro napagod aq sa kakasulat kya hanggang poems n lng😄..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga siguro. Wala apa kasi sa atin mga pang gambala katulad ng cellphone. Sa ngayon kasi bihira na yung mga batang mahilig magsulat sa diary or journal hehe. Mas mabuti pang mag tiktok hahah

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

if it's me, i just went back to old talents UwU i got my drawing skills and my writing skills back UwU i even leveled up my cooking skills because i started getting more seasonings, herbs and spices and it's just interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you mean, you just started writing those stories during the pandemic? I mean when the quarantine started. It's good to play in the kitchen as long as you have the ingredients hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

i had a background naman back in highschool and a bit in my earlier years in college pero iba na kasi sinusulat ko since the start of the quarantine. lol true UwU konti na lang, mama will help me build a spice rack and herb garden

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ang galing galing mo talaga. How to be a talented girl like you?

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

be bored like me, i think? i just don't like being bored talaga 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako Writing din, mejo natuto ako magsulat agui. Ni hindi sumagi sa isip ko na magiging writer ako, tho some of my article is really nonsense still, nagsusulat pa rin me 🙈. Tapos natuto akong kumain ng sunod sunod kahit na ba kakakain ko lang kanina ahahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oy oy, don't say na nonsense mga sinusulat mo. I can see that you're getting better. Pero same tayo, I never thought that I'll be a freelance writer too hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Quarantine Got talent, Hihi nice meme I always searching and wonder what is my hidden talent hihi

I tried to write not for fun but honestly to earn but it is difficult. Can talent is learn? I want to learn how to write good content, Grammar hits me always in terms of writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If writing ability is not innate in you, you can still write for money. You just have to practice everyday and read.cash is a good platform that will help you improve. Just write what's on your mind and don't mind the grammar first, though you really have to mind it if you want to have more audience or readers. But then, as you continue to write everyday, you'll also get better. Just don't let grammar stop you from writing!

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Thanks to you, Thanks to the info. You motivate me to write hihi

I want to practice good writing from now on. Maybe this is the time to study back on grammar aspects hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago