My First Day At School As A Teacher

22 54
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

When I was still a student, I always dread the first day of school. I was socially awkward before and I don't know how to approach my peers as well as my teachers. I also hate the get-to-know-everyone part where I have to repeatedly introduce myself but at the end of the day everyone will still forget my name and I have to go through the same process the next day.

But those are my feelings as a student. Now that it's my first day at school as a teacher, it's a mixed emotion, but contrary to what I felt as a student, I didn't dread my first day. I was excited instead. I was excited because I've been waiting for this moment for more than a year. If the pandemic didn't happen, I would've been teaching for a while now. Well, I don't wish to dwell in those what-if's now.

My first day at school as a teacher was exciting, chaotic, tiring and fun! See it's a mixed emotion.

I started my day upon waking up at 4:30 a.m., don't get me wrong I didn't wake up early just because I'm excited. This is my normal time of waking up. I did my morning routine and wrote and published an article on read.cash first. At 6:00 a.m. as soon as I ppu lished my article my mom is already nagging me to hurry up because I'll be late. The truth is I don't know what time I should go to school since there is no regular classes.

Travelling from home to my workplace takes more than an hour since it is located at the coastal area.

We departed at 8:00 a.m. and my parents looks more excited than me. They didn't even sent me to school during my first day in grade 1, but on my first day as a teacher they are both sending me off. I think that is weird and embarrassing that at my age, my parents are both sending me off, so when the principal and my co-teachers asked me how I get there and how am I going to go home in the afternoon since there'll be no more public mode of transportation beyond 2:30 p.m., I simply told them that my dad is waiting outside.

This is what the road looks like. It's dangerous because there's a landslide here from time to time so there is always a need to repair the road. It has always been like this since then.

Aside from the dangerous road, I also saw a lot of slogans on the roadside saying: 'NPA Tama Na, Sobra Na' and 'NPA Salot Sa Lipunan'. This is more dangerous than the roads. There's a lot of members of the New People's army dwelling in this town and they extort money from everyone - from vendors to professionals. This is the reason why my parents doesn't want me to travel alone and my dad didn't allow me as well to live alone at our house located in this town. Because those members of the NPA might come after me and ask for money. This is not just a rumor, this is a true story. We know this will happen because my cousin's wife who was a newly hired teacher and was assigned on one of the barangays here experienced the same thing. The rebels asked for Php. 20,000 ($421) from her and she had to give them that amount the following day after they asked for the money so they can spare her life. This is just one of the many similar experiences. And I'm afraid it will happen to me as well if I don't take some precautionary measures.

Going back to my first day as school, I arrived at the school past 9:00 a.m. and I was surprised that there's a lot of people there - from pupils to parents and teachers! The school has two campuses and as soon as I get out of my dad's tricycle, I asked a parent for directions. She led me to the principal's office. The principal hasn't arrived yet. The other grade 3 teachers warmly welcomed me as a new member of the team.

The principal arrived few minutes after me and she was too loud and happy to see me - because she's my professor back in college! It was chaotic at her office because there are wires that sparked and had the risk of causing a fire, so everyone in the office were screaming and running. It was resolved few moments later.

I was oriented by the principal and she also introduced me to every teacher who comes inside her office.

From 10 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. I just stayed at the grade 1 room because my room is still under repair. I just sat at the corner and watched the other teachers do their job while parents and students are coming in and out to get their 'feeding supplies', cards and sign some papers. Everyone is too busy while I was just sitting there and posting noise on noise.cash, it was too boring.

At 11:00 a.m., I was told by the grade 3 grade level chairman to go and take my lunch. My parents are waiting for me outside the school.

The school is located near the sea, so we ate our lunch near the beach. We stayed there until 12:30 and it was indeed refreshing. My dad even swam for a few minutes. I thought I should bring a swimwear next time so that I can also take a swim during lunch time. πŸ˜‚

I went back to school before 1 p.m. but the rooms and the principal's office is still closed so I just stayed at the shed near the gate and took some photos of the school grounds.

When the teachers finally arrived, we chatted for a while then everyone went to their respective classrooms.

I just can't sit there and do nothing so I asked one of the grade 3 teachers if there's something I can do because I'm already bored from sitting and doing nothing while they are all busy with stuffs. So she introduced me to one of the teachers in grade 3 who is a Master Teacher and in charge of the curriculum development team. I was asked to sort out the test papers from school year 2017-2020. I thought it's just a piece of cake, but it's not. It's too complicated and tiring. We are doing it for the school validation that will be conducted next week.

My first day ended like this. The teachers of the Elementary school where I am assigned danced Zumba and this is the first time in a while that I danced again. Next week, I'll be one of the leaders for the Zumba and I am quite nervous because I don't know how to dance. πŸ™€

8
$ 21.62
$ 21.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wow ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang may pogi sa gilid madam. Bala sya na si the one? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May jowa na yan madam haha. Sini-ship nga kami nung ibang teachers nung pagkadating ko pa lang πŸ˜… Tapos sabi nung isang teacher may jowa na daw wag nang ipilit πŸ˜‚ Pero feeling ko di naman pogi hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hahaha. Di sya pasok sa standards mo? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa nakikita ng malinaw yung mukha madam πŸ˜… tsaka mukhang bata pa haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hehe. Basta keep safe madam ha. Galingan mo sa zumba tomskieee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks madam. Hehe don't worry sa friday pa naman yun 😁 Every friday lang naman kami nagsu zumba

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Kala ko every day. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaa, bat pinili mong mag work jan if may banta pala ng karahasan jan? Di na magbabago isip mo? Final na talagang jan ka mag wowork? Halaa, ingat ikaw. Pano if hindi ka naman laging masasamahan ni tatay mo. Di babyahe ka mag isa? Katakot yon ay. Dapat maalam ka mag judo, karate, taekwondo at dapat may taser ka din. Para laging handa alam mo na.

Pero seryoso? Hindi umalis parents mo at binantayan kalang? Pano nga if hindi ka laging masasamahan 😱😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko naman kasi alam na ganun na pala kalala ang sitwasyon dun. Tsaka di lang naman safe kapag dun ako sa bahay mismo namin tumira kasi tatandaan na nila yun. Kaya nga di na kami nag stop over sa bahay namin dun. Anyway 2 months lang naman yun kaya okay lang. Baka pag na permanent ako palipat din ako dito sa bayan.

Nagpramis naman sila na sasamahan daw ako lagi hehe. Ang ginagawa kasi nila nagba-buy and sell sila para di rin sayang yung time nila kakahintay 😁

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Ay yon lang, di ka muna nag tanong tanong ganorn? Chorrr haha. Basta ingat nalamg ikaw. Saka if sasamahan ka naman pala lagi nina pader mo, keri na yarn.

At mag magdala ka ng Zumba outfit baka kailanganin ulit next week πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha alam ko naman kasi na may mga NPA talaga dun kahit naman nung dun pa talaga kami permanent nakatira. Kaso lumala nga lang ngayon.

Leader pati ako sa zumba next week πŸ™€ hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Thats really same as the day of my first day at college as a student...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagtuturo kna? Congrats β™₯️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes po mommy Yen. Nung Friday lang ako nag start. 😁 Thanks po.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wow galing πŸ’š

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Grabe! Katakot naman pala dyan. May mga NPA? Myghad!! Kaya nakakadalawang isip talaga na dito magparank eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe nga talaga. Grabe pati makapanghingi daw. Walang pinapatawad tapos pag di gad nakabigay patay kang bata ka 😰

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hala ka dyan! Mag-ingat ka dyan. Wag ka maggagala na mag isa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nga makakagala kasi ang daming gagawin πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Were their no men in uniform posted at your area? Katakot nman mga NPA..

Finally nkapasok k na din.. at least with that, supportive sila mom and dad.. tumbling tumbling n lng pg d marunong mag dance jaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron din pero sa part na 'to wala. Tsaka kahit naman may mga nagrorondang men in uniform wala pa ring epekto yun. Madalas nga magkaroon ng shoot out dyan between the NPAs and men in uniform. At lagi din may pinapatay dyan.

Supportive yan kasi kanino ko ba ibibigay sahod ko? hahahah joke, ayaw lang din nila mapahamak ako.

Pearly shells na nga lang daw sayawin naminπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago