Can We Beat Procrastination?

5 56
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

I have a goal, but I don't know how to start reaching my goal when laziness is so hindering me to make a step forward. I know that I have to beat laziness and be serious but some other daily activities also hinders m be serious. It's been two days since I last wrote an article, and I've been meaning to write, but I keep delaying it - yes, procrastination at it's finest!

Okay, so like I mentioned I really want to write an article but aside from I'm not in the mood, I also can't think of a good topic to write about. So I decided to make my laziness an inspiration and write an article about it. This is actually not about laziness but about procrastination.

Here's a scenario.

Just another ordinary day. I woke up even before the alarm I've set the following night wakes me up. It's 5:00 a.m. and upon waking up I realized that I have a lot of things to do, from household chores, errands to take care of, I have to prepare an activity for my tutorial classes and I have to write a new article. I know that these are all important and that I have to start doing things, but I'm too lazy to do it and there's an inner force in me that stops me from doing things. And then I'll suddenly realize: "some of these are not urgent, I'll just do it tomorrow." And the next day it's the same scenario - I don't feel like doing things again, and I keep on prolonging and delaying doing the important things. When I try to delay things these come to mind:

Well, I'll just make noise on noise.cash instead of writing an article.

• I will not prepare for the next class since I can just depend on the textbooks.

• I won't wash my clothes and bedding since I can let my sister do it for me.

• I will not do that favor my friend asked me to do because it's not urgent, I can just cram a day before she needs it.

Different thoughts for different scenarios, which shows one thing:

Procrastination.

What is Procrastination?

Procrastination is the act of postponing to do something which can be done today.

Most of the time people delays doing important things and use their time for relaxation and leisure instead. For some it becomes a habit. Most commonly, the young adults. There are students who are given assignment and projects way far from the due date, but they don't do it while they still have ample time and rushes things a day or a night before the day of submission. Well, I'm talking based on experience lol. Back in college, me and some of my friends tend to make projects and reports a day before it is needed because we feel like we can think faster and make things easily when we are under pressure. Students are not the only ones who procrastinate.

There are some adults too who tends to delay things at work and this does not have positive effects, businesses may end up losing income and deals due to procrastination. When I was still working as a customer service representative, I used to give promises to my customers that I've give them a call back to check with them or give them an update about the concern they called about, but there are times that I tend to procrastinate and delays my follow up with them for several days and as a result they give me low ratings and it deeply affects my performance ratings at work and I have to make up for that by working hard for about a week. See, I'm probably the president of the procrastination club!

Time is precious, and we do not want procrastination to steal it from us. So in this article, let us have a better understanding why people end up procrastinating and what to do to beat procrastination. These are not my own idea but I got these from a valuable book which I used to read back when I was a teenager. I tried to reread the book hoping that I can apply the advices to myself.

Reasons why people procrastinates

  • LACK OF MOTIVATION. Sometimes there are projects or chores that just seems too boring to even start with it. We feel like it's a burden to do it and instead of starting to do the activity we look for other fun and interesting things to do. For example, a student is given a project, but it's too boring and ends up scrolling social media pages or playing video games instead because it's more fun!

  • YOU HAVE A LOT OF OTHER THINGS TO DO. True enough, almost all of us have many things to do every day. Sometimes, it overwhelms us and does not know where to start and ends up not doing anything at all or probably do the things with less importance first.

Tips that will help to beat procrastination

  • Set priorities. How about making a list of the tasks that you need to complete? You can try to arrange the list from the most important to the least important. That way you know which task you need to prioritized and do first.

  • Create a schedule. Sometimes we tend to procrastinate because we just do things spontaneously, how about making a schedule for your activities the next day and strictly stick to your schedule no matter what? It will help you gain control of your time and your stress level will also be reduced.

  • Think of the consequences. If you don't start doing things today, you may end being stressed out and pressured about it. Good outputs are not done when rushed and done under pressure, it is a result of careful thinking and when you invest enough time for doing it.

  • Think of a good reason why you have to start doing a task. Maybe a chance of getting a higher grade if you submit an assignment earlier. It feels great when we do things ahead of time and for me, I feel like I've achieved something good whenever I do this, and it makes me feel happy and proud for myself.

We may have a lot of reasons to procrastinate, it is inevitable specially when we became so used to it but let us try to apply these valuable advices that might help us to beat procrastination.

Going back to the question on the title of this article, can we really beat procrastination? Definitely! Quit procrastinating and start doing things now! - A message for myself lol.

11
$ 13.37
$ 13.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ako na ako, laging pinagpapaliban ang dapat gawin, awan baga. May manyana habit ako, nakakatamad kasi talaga haha. Kagaya ngayon, gagawa dapat ako ng article pero kung ano ano ang inuuna ko, lagi nalang problema ko yarn.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

One95earner wrote about Professional Procrastinator and I wrote How to Avoid Procrastination. Hahaha, It's three of us now.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

So we're the members of the procrastination club! hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hahaha, so it's a club now? We know the solution to beat it but still procrastinating. Good job, members!😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We can beat anything and that includes procrastination 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago