Read.Cash Comments Missing ?-!-?

9 128
Avatar for sanctuary.the-one-law
1 year ago

UPDATE: This problem has been addressed,
a big thank you to Simon, dev at Read.Cash.
This article remains as a historical reference only.

Here is one method how to fix your missing Comment Section.

Your comment section may depends on many things.

A few weeks back, using Brave browser on a Manjaro desktop,

the comments went missing.

This was extremely frustrating, so I began to check:

  • OS ?

  • Browser ?

  • VPN ?

  • WTF ?!?

It turns out to be something that,
on Brave browser,
is unfixable by anything reasonable like shields or scripts etc that I could find.

Using everything the same, side-by-side on the same desktop,
I eventually found that Firefox worked (same OS, same VPN, Same routing)

It seems like it could be some kind of fingerprint shenanigans.
I read that Read.Cash had some issues on mobiles (which I do not use).
But my search ended here - I have zero time left to hunt and peck solutions.

But the problem is that Firefox is a Horrific monster
that I had been retreating from.

Suddenly !
MULLVAD+TOR released a browser that claims to target fingerprinting.

https://mullvad.net/en/blog/2023/4/3/mullvad-vpn-and-the-tor-project-team-up-to-release-the-mullvad-browser/

Get it here: https://mullvad.net/en/download/browser/linux

They also offer MacOs and Windows versions ( I do not see mobile offerings).

Voila - opening up Read.Cash on the Mullvad-Tor browser works painlessly.

It may not work for everyone,
but it may work for many who
want to see their comment sections again
( without logging out of Read.Cash).

Enjoy this if it helps you get back into writing again.

If you are missing comments on your mobile phone, this will not help.
( mobile environments are "moving targets", require too much time+effort.)

Good Reading, all

8
$ 0.08
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Avatar for sanctuary.the-one-law
1 year ago

Comments

It's frustrating when things don't work as expected, but I am glad you found a solution with the Mullvad-Tor browser. I am sure it will be helpful for others who are experiencing the same issue.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

I hadn't realized that, I always use Google Chrome, it works fine. The only thing that did happen was about a month ago, that transactions could not be made in Read.

$ 0.01
10 months ago

I am using chrome instead and I don't experience any problem about seeing all the comments.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I encounter the same problem last week. I'm using chrome, I can't read and comment that is why I tried to open my account to another browser and its ok now. But when I check my account again in chrome, still the comments are missing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My simple advice is look to see if your system is updated and see if that helps.
Beyond that I cannot say.
Cheers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Only some users facing such issue but mostly have smooth ride. I think chrome users have no problem in commenting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm... I'm using Brave on my Huawei Tab. I did not encounter any problem.... Perhaps, they are doing something to deter those comment spammers that started to flock this platform again...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not many encounter this, but for those of us bogged down on Brave Desktop linux it is a galling experience. I found that Brave on Android works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks ... I will check MULLVAD.

$ 0.01
1 year ago