The Stone that wanted to be a Potato. Part 1

7 44
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Soon I will be ten months in read.cash, I don't remember very well which was the day I started, but I'm keeping an eye on the date that says in my profile, it still says 9 months. The first few months when I started reading articles, I realized that on the last day of the month and the first day of the following month, most of the articles I read were about achievements. So I started to plan goals and during my first three months, I did like a management closing, giving details about the achieved and unachieved goals.

I remember that I was stressed when the end of the month was approaching and I was behind in what I had planned. It was at that moment that I stopped setting goals, I knew I would not be able to meet them because many variables come into play that I cannot control, such as power failures, Internet signal failure and other personal factors.

Now I feel better. I write out of inspiration, not obligation. Every two or three days I publish contents that come out of the inspiration of the moment, I think of a topic and I sit in front of my computer to write. In the last few days I'm dedicated to my plants, I take the opportunity to publish photos of the plant arrangements I make.

Today I have dedicated the day to painting stones that I get in the yard. I had several stones on the table when my 7-year-old granddaughter came to visit me. She saw the stones and asked me what I had those stones there for. I told her that I was going to paint the biggest stone in the shape of a country house, to make an arrangement with a plant I have ready in a clay pot. My granddaughter told me that she also wanted to paint! Children like to paint and I thought it would be a good play activity at that time, but since I know she has the fine motor coordination of a 7-year old I didn't risk her painting the stone that goes in my arrangement, and I suggested that she have her own stone. Then we went out to the yard to look for another small stone that has the ideal shape to become a country house.

We sat at the work table ready to paint. On the stone that my granddaughter had, I traced with graphite pencil the outlines of a house: roof, door and windows. I gave her the cold brown ceramic paint and instructed her to start painting the roof. I devoted myself to my stone. After a while when I saw the girl she was not painting the ceiling but the part that is supposed to be the wall. I told her that it didn't matter if she could paint the ceiling a different color and I went back to concentrate on my stone. When I saw her again she also painted the ceiling brown, so the whole stone was brown, it looked like a potato... hahahaha.

She was not happy with the result of her work, she told me that the stone was ugly. I told her that no, that everything in this life has a solution, that tomorrow I was going to paint her house in that brown base so that she could take the stone home and use it as a paperweight on her homework table. She was happy about that. So tomorrow it's my turn to transform stone potato into a stone house... hahaha.

Everything in life has a solution, except death. We have to teach children not to feel defeated, that if they have failed in any activity, they have to look for a solution, another way out. That if what they had in mind did not work out, they should not stop insisting and turn that mistake into another way of looking at things. That stone was destined to be a country house and she made it a stone potato ... but tomorrow we will turn the problem around so that it becomes a beautiful cottage. See part 2 here.

At the end of March, I reached 124 followers, I take this opportunity to thank you all for your support by continuing to read my publications and to all my sponsors for being so special. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from:

https://news.sky.com/story/mr-potato-head-is-no-more-as-classic-toy-goes-gender-neutral-12228877

6
$ 5.18
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 2
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

What a beautiful drawing, I like his little house. What a laugh with the little girl haha but that's how they are, it's a great activity to draw with the kids, many times when I'm at my in-laws house I start coloring with Luis' niece, she is a very cheerful and funny girl, in August she will be 7 years old, although sometimes she gets upset for such simple things, but I try to make her feel better.

Congratulations for all your subscribers, with respect to the goals, I keep making them, I make some simple and others complex, but I don't stress if I meet them or not because of the same problems, I let everything flow and if I look good, it's perfect.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Most children like to draw. My granddaughter can't watch me make my creations and wants to participate too. Sometimes I let her but sometimes I don't because it interferes with my work which is very detailed. I just let her apply the base. Thank you for continuing to comment on my articles. Regards.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how children are, creative and sometimes they want to help even if they don't know how. Your articles are really good, I liked them a lot but I could not comment them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also stopped setting goals after the first two months on this platform because I just couldn't handle the pressure and stress of trying to meet up with my goals before the month ends. These days I just flow with whatever happens and it's much better that way, no pressure 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That way I think we enjoy it better. We write for inspiration. And we are always writing the same, we don't stop doing it. But now I write without pressure. Thanks for visiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Such a lovely grandma, I hope the potato stone won't be cooked by your grand daughter .. Hahahaha..keep up the good work

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahahaha... thanks for stopping by to read and leave such a funny comment. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago