My Desire to Fly in Paragliding

29 36
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

When I was a child, one of the family trips I remember was when my father would take us to El Morro Hill, in Lecheria.

I remember he would take us all in his car and drive to Cerro El Morro. It was not far from home, about 20 minutes. At that time I was terrified just thinking about going to El Morro. Going to that place made me nervous. I didn't enjoy at all when my father drove his car and went up the hill. Turning around as if the hill was cylindrical. I was terrified to go up and see the cliff on the side of the road. When we got to the top I was afraid of that height, and coming back it was the same thing. I always thought that the brakes would fail and we would all go over the cliff. It was a childish thing, because when I grew up it was one of my favorite places. Especially when I was dating. And you will know why.

Now I can better appreciate its beauty. Cerro El Morro is located in Lechería, Anzoátegui, Venezuela. It is a circular hill about 15 kilometers long. If you go up the hill on the left it leads to the Fortín de la Magdalena, which is a structure from the colonial era. But if you climb it from the right it takes you to the top of the hill. Most people climb it from the right.

From unsplash

Once at the top you will have the most spectacular view of the area. You can enjoy an incredible view of the sea, of all the fullness of the bay of Pozuelos. From the distance, you can see the entire city of Puerto la Cruz. And also the city of Lechería.
 The hill of escasavegetación and much sun has its main attraction for its spectacular scenery. Here my friends of read.cash photographers would come alive with their cameras.

It is a charming place, with energy, where you can breathe a lot of peace. At night the lights of the cities in the distance resemble a postcard of natural beauty. Dreamy sunsets for romance. When I was dating I used to climb the hill a lot with my boyfriend. Its sunset landscapes invite romance. But when night fell we had to go down because it gets very dark, there is no street lighting. At least there was no street lighting at the top of the hill. All its beauty is until sunset.

The days that most people go up the hill are holidays and weekends. Many people exercise, jog, mountain bike or hike. Over time, large residential complexes and hotels have been built around the hill, which allows for a more or less constant surveillance, giving a sense of security, although one cannot trust it, because it is still a relatively isolated place and you can run into all kinds of people. Here at the top of Cerro El Morro they practice paragliding. The hill lends itself to do so, both for the beauty of the scenery and the weather conditions with the right wind currents.

From unsplash

Have you ever wanted to do something that you haven't done yet, but that desire is still latent in your thoughts? I have long wanted to launch myself from a high place, paragliding, and fly like an eagle. There has always been an obstacle that has prevented me from fulfilling that desire. But I'm not afraid, because I'm not afraid. That is to say, it may be that at the moment of launching myself from a hill I will be afraid, but it will be a different fear, an exciting fear. If you still don't know what it is to launch yourself from a paraglider, I will tell you that it is a sport where you launch yourself from a hill or you can also be towed from a boat, if you are at sea.

One rises, for about 15 minutes, by a rectangular, flexible, and deployed parachute. I wouldn't jump alone, I'm not that crazy!... hahaha... I would do it with someone else who has the experience, with an instructor.

I have never flown paragliding. I want to experience the feeling of being like an eagle, to spread my wings and soar through the sky, to see the landscape freely, from above, to be carried by the current, as if I had wings.

And you, have you ever flown in paragliding?

To end my story today, I give you a biblical passage, which at a specific moment in my life, touched my heart, and since then the eagle is my favorite bird, it is like an emblem for me... "But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength; they will soar (with) wings like eagles, they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not faint", Isaiah 40:31. Thanks to my dear sponsors and readers who follow me, for always stopping by and leaving your comments. To all of you, thank you.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 6.02
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 9
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

I'm afraid of heights, maybe I wasn't able to fulfil this, although it looks interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I hear you, it's strong. Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was younger I wanted to do that, and bungee jumping too. But now I don't know haha I just might at the heat of the moment and with an instructor, just like you, but it gives me shivers just thinking about it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would be scared too, even with an instructor, but you have to face your fears... hahaha.... thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sounds so fun but I'm not really a fan of heights so that might hinders me from ever trying it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, being afraid of heights would be a big problem. I hope that won't be a difficulty for me, because I've never taken the plunge myself. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never try it but, If given a chance Iwould love to try it, and I know I will enjoy it even at first I will get afraid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you dared to take the plunge. I would stop the same thing myself, it will be scary at first, but I'm going to enjoy it a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

of all the dreams that people always mention is this kind of activity. i don't think i can include myself in that list, i wouldn't like to fly because when i would be in the race to do it i would already be too scared and i am reluctant to feel that sensation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand you perfectly. I know people that just by the fact of flying in an airplane they lose sleep for several days, just because of the stress of taking a plane. Thanks for your comment friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never flown paragliding. But I have a cousin who, when he was younger, used to fly in Icarus.

And so many memories bring me to El Morro and Puerto La Cruz. Our country has such beautiful places, and it is a pity that we can no longer enjoy them as before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True friend, when I write about the beautiful places in Venezuela it makes me very nostalgic, especially because now I can't travel as I used to. Everything is very expensive and there is no gas. Sad friend that only the memories remain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have good memories. And the hope that someday, we could visit some of those places again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh i might faint while paragliding but the view is spectacular that I want to do it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha... you do not faint, I assure you that seeing the spectacular scenery takes away the fear, plus you go with an instructor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah..i have seen those videos of paragliding...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine trying this paragliding. 😬 My fear of heights can never. But I always wanted to try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, I hear you. I would still be afraid, but I want to try it. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Hopefully, I can fight with my fear and try it. You're welcome sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Flying is one phobia that has ruled my mind. I dare not try it, I would melt if merely think about it 🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand you perfectly, I know many people who are afraid of flying, and they do it by plane,.. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paragliding or parachuting are two things I hope to try. Oh, also, riding a hot air balloon. Hopefully, I will get the chance, someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be a spectacular experience. Hopefully someday you will be able to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to fly. But I am very scared. I like to see others fly. It is really a very brave thing.Maybe one day my dream of flying will come true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would be scared too, I won't deny it, but it would be a tasty fear. Don't give up that experience because of fear. the fear will never go away, but the experience will. I liked your comment, thanks for reading my post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always wanted to do this. At one point, a company once tried to see if it is feasible to do paragliding here in our town. I'm not sure how that went for they decided against it. That and hot air balloon too. It would be an awesome activity if that did push through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is impressive. Too bad they couldn't do it in your city, it would be great if you could live the experience, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is also one of the dreams in my wishlist! Oaragliding. Ob, how nice would it be to fly in the air, with calming breeze to feel for a while. Just seeing the majestic view frim above. I am sure it'd feel heavenly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it would be heavenly too. Seeing the earth, from above, with the breeze in your face. Someday we will do it, I assure you. Thanks for reading my article and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago