Happy Frog Day.

8 34
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

One of my favorite activities or hobbies are plants, but as I have neglected them lately I feel guilty because many of them have dried up due to the sunny days we have spent these months, poor plants. Yesterday afternoon, after an exhortation from my son regarding my plants, I decided to take up again the decoration of pots with plants and activate again my creativity with them.

One of the things I have to keep in mind when I am checking the plants in my yard is to be very careful not to cross paths with a toad. I always have to be with a stick moving the plants because on several occasions I have seen them among the plants. But today I'm not going to deal with the toads. Another time we'll talk about them and how a poison toad killed my son's pet two years ago.

I was looking at the difference between frogs and toads and noticed several of them. In the roughness of the skin, indeed when I see a toad among my plants my heart races at the mere sight of their appearance, forgive me if I offend someone's feelings, but they are hideously ugly. And of the color of shades between brown and black that also make them animals of care for their ugly appearance. Although frogs and toads belong to the same family of amphibians, I prefer to comment today about frogs, so I will tell you some curiosities I was able to find out about these amphibians.

Among the things I found out about frogs, is that they change their skin every week and do not tolerate saltwater, they are freshwater, and are amphibians that can be found in all continents except Antarctica. You can find a great variety of frogs, but most of them are endangered. At least when I see them in my garden, whether frog or toad, I have never put them in danger of death, I just take them carefully with a stick and take them to a place far away from my environment. But I haven't seen any amphibians in my yard for a long time because the drought has been strong, the soil is dry, there is no humidity anywhere and their habitat has to be humid.

Another curiosity that I am going to tell you today, that maybe you didn't know is that the World Conservation Union proposes March 20th as World Frog Day, did you know, this is because the frog is in danger of extinction, they propose to celebrate this special date to make people aware of the importance of frogs in the ecosystem. If frogs become extinct from the earth, diseases such as malaria, dengue and yellow fever will increase, since frogs feed on flying insects that transmit these diseases.

If I knew that frogs and toads feed on insects especially mosquitoes, but I can not help but feel strong beats in my heart just to see them, so "from far away they look prettier", so says a saying in my country when they do not want someone nearby ... from afar I wish a happy day to frogs ... hahaha ... to continue feeding on insects that harm humanity.

Tell me something: Did you know that March 20th is world frog day?

Greetings to my followers and my sponsors, thank you for always being present in my virtual life. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from unsplash

4
$ 1.54
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Frogs play also important role in the environment. They swallow mosquitoes and somehow help us from dengue free.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is correct. Not only dengue, but also malaria and yellow fever. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In addition to toads been ugly, they are also poisonous. Some frogs are also poisonous but it's not all of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know that toads are poisonous because we had a pet that was poisoned and could not recover, he died four days after having an encounter with a very large and horribly ugly toad. One of these days I will tell that story. Thanks for commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't knew that. From where I am from I have seen only green frogs , lakes and rivers are their homes. I haven't seen any toads in real life only frogs. When they jump they scare me, haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Toads are big. In my area where I live they appear during the rainy season. There are toads as big as an adult turtle. And they are horrible ugly and they also scare me... hahaha... so that makes two of us...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are also some frog which is a poisonous one ,be careful for that ,anyway happy sundah to you maam.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Of course, my friend, I am very careful with those amphibians. By far with them... thanks for stopping by and commenting. Happy Sunday to you too, although even here in my country it is still Saturday. I love what technology does, it brings people together even on different schedules.

$ 0.00
2 years ago