Turn of Fate- Life is ever Changing

2 24
Avatar for rgPhotography
3 years ago

I have a new friend here in Read.Cash named @Eirolfeam2 . She had raised a question yesterday in one of her articles. And I gladly participated by commenting about it.

Her question goes like this: What is your greatest challenge that you have encountered in your life?

Please allow me to share to you guys my answer to her question.

The greatest challenge in my life so far was when I decided to pursue my college education. You see, I am just an average guy with an average IQ, who was also born during those times when college education was too expensive for a poor islander family. The year was 2003.

My father was just an ordinary fisherman. When I was still in 2nd year High School, he already told me that he cannot afford to send me to college.

To make the long story short... to get a college education, this islander guy (me, myself, and I) went to the city on his own looking for a scholarship. I literally do not know the whereabouts of the universities and colleges in the city proper. And so to navigate, I simply asked almost every street vendor, PUJ conductors, and passersby that I came accross with. I was 20 years old then.

I talked to campus administrators and guidance councilors, with knees quivering, begging for scholarship and majority of them turned me down.

Luckily, I got qualified as a working scholar in an Aeronautical state college. I stayed in the college dorm to minimize further expenses. It was there that the real challenge started.

Our school allowance was only Php 800.00/month. And it always come a month late. We are tasked to do janitorial work in the campus.

I remember attending class with just a glass of water in my stomach. I want to listen to our Instructors and to absorb the lessons but my stomach's craving for a meal is way louder than our Instructor's voice. And so to resolve the problem, together with my co-working scholars, we went to the Campus Administrator's office. We asked our good Directress to allow us to gather scraps and recyclables from the campus' garbage. We sold the gathered scraps to the junkshop outside the campus.

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of rgPhotography
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rgPhotography
3 years ago

Comments

Please subscribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

inspiring my friend...keep up the hard work, and keep writing! =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago