I Almost Quit

36 39
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

In almost all of my articles, I already mentioned there that I was a child with a strict parents, right? So here's the thing, when I was kid, I was not able to trained by my parents on how to swim. And as what I said, because they were so strict to me, I was not able to joined other kiddos out there when they went to "busay" or falls to have time in learning how to swim. I almost spend my time at home, watching tv, listening music, and sometimes my mama teaches me how to read and write. I was contented then though I don't have a lot of time playing outside the house and as for learning how to swim, eventually, I don't mind at all if I don't know how to do it.

safertourism.org.uk

Then we became teens with my friends, some real, mostly faked. I was left behind everytime they planned to went to "busay" because I was the only one who doesn't know how to do it. So, I just stayed at home, with the usual things I do, watching tv and listening to music. I sometimes find time to read books also. As a matter of fact, I envied them, a lot. I really want to learn it, but I was so hesitant to ask my parents because of their strict attitude towards at me. Its kinda sad tho, but, what would I do? I have to follow them, and that's an order.

businessinsider.com

Everytime we have family gatherings and they wanted to go to the beach, I went off too, but I was just at the seaside, watching them, while enjoying the water. My papa approached me to come there but I was so scared because the water was too high, I was too dense, and I can't swim. Sad but true.

I am just enjoying the view while watching them swimming and playing in the water, and while eating.

I tried to go to them but, I was so scared to be drown, so I just sit on our cottage and just watching other kids in the water, swimming.

When I was a highschool student, I was not able to join field trips, especially if it involves water exploration, because you know, I can't swim, so my parents were very hesitant to let me participate in the said trip. I never take a chance then to persuade my papa to teach me how to swim because he said, "You don't need to know it nak, you will not used the skill of swimming tho," so I never again persuaded my papa because I was afraid too if he will get mad at me. I am so scared if he is mad. So I didn't mind too if I learn to do it or not.

So it happened, when I was in college, I taken up Bachelor of Secondary Education majoring in MAPEH. At first I was not expecting that part of that major, there was an Aquatics subject. But only to find out that, there really was. Still, I continued the course, until such time that in my subject loads, Aquatics was part of it and if I will not take the subject I will be dropped and can't graduate the course that I chose to pursue. I was very terrified. I can't even calm myself. During the first day of class, our professor asked if who doesn't know how to swim and of course, what would you expected? I raised my hand and said, "I am sir!" My classmates looked at me. I expected that I was the only one doesn't know it, but luckily, we were three, unfortunate beings.πŸ˜…

health.harvard.edu
en.wikipedia.org

I tried to quit and dropped the subject but I was then encouraged by my classmates not to. They helped me to learn the basics. Every early in the morning I go to the beach, because it was just near at our boarding house. Together with the other two, we were taught by our classmates and as a sort of training also, they taught us the proper water breathing and proper positions. I really tried my very best but unfortunately, I can't. I blamed my parents at that time because if only they taught me when I was still a kid, it will not be difficult for me to do it right away. I cried because I can't manage to accept if I get a low grade or be dropped out. Then one time, my professor approach me. He told me that, as a remedial for me and for the other two, we should master one of the swimming styles, especially that I was then a running for latin honor, and I might not be able to if I get an 3.o or below it. I was really afraid but I had already accepted the sad reality. Still, I already decided not to quit the subject. So because of that chance, I chose the easiest style which was the freestyle, same with the other two. We were given a week to master it and luckily, we all together did it. We were very happy at that time. It was also one of the biggest achievements I did for my entire life. I made myself proud! I was really happy for that blessing.

Even though I was not able to be part of the latin honors during the graduation ceremony but still I was so proud that I graduated and able to learn how to swim freestyle.☺️

LESSON LEARNED:

"Give your best in everything."

"Never give up if you don't try it first."

"Don't be afraid to take risks sometimes."

"Be confident in yourself," and;

"Trust yourself that you can do it."

Have a nice day ahead!☺️

Thank you for reading my story.

Thank you to my sponsors @Zeshan3333 @dziefem and @Bloghound ☺️❀️

To God be the glory.πŸ˜‡

12
$ 36.57
$ 36.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 5
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Comments

Ako di marunong malungoy pero lagi akong nalulunond sa ngiti niya. Bwahahhaha, wala lang akong macomment. Anyways, as you said, do not give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehh'πŸ˜….... kilig yarnn???πŸ˜‚πŸ€­

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats for not giving up and thanks to your friends who are there as an encouragement. Noon din hindi ako marunong lumangoy, mga friends ko din nag influence sa akin. Pero yong swimming skills ko, pangsave sa self lang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sobrang blessed ako sa kanila din.. Pero ngayon ewan ko lang ko marunong pa ako hahaha.. matagal na kasing hindi nakaligo sa dagat dahil sa pandemic..πŸ€­πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats po. Ako di talaga marunong lumangoy. Even sa dagat na nasa gilid natatakot ako. Feeling ko kasi may hihilansa paa ko o ano pa. Sana matuto na ko kasi nakakainggit talaga yung iba lalo na pag may outing tapos maliligo sa beach, sila todo ligo samantalang ako nasa gilid lang. Kulang na lang magdala ako ng tabo hahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh, pero ako, ewan ko lang din kung marunong pa ba ako..hahahaπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ parang nakalimutan ko na rin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ayun lang. Practice na lang ulit. πŸ˜… Ako, di talaga ko pwede kasi nung nag practice ako, dun ako muntik malunod. Hahaha Nanigas mga binti ko. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, pag nabigyan nang chance ulit..πŸ€­πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats! Ako, marunong ako mag float pero di ako marunong lumangoy. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natuto na rin ako mag float pero ngayon parang lulubong na ulit ako..hahahahπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ di na na.practice ulit kasi may pandemic, bawal maligo sa dagat..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations sis. Push lang ng push at never susuko.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis.😁 Continue lang sa laban, habang may buhay may pag asa.☺️

Thank you for reading..❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome sis.Tama lalaban tayo. Kahit anong mangyari.☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang pagsubok na hindi malalampasan basta't may tiwala tayo sa kakayahan natin at may tiwala din tayo sa Kanya.πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did an awesome job, ren. I am happy for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the compliment.πŸ€—β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so nice to have someone na handang i encourage ka lagi po.☺️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

totoo po yan at isa ka na dun, sis :) stay lovely and wonderful as you are!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you so much po..❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeessss! Mabuti at hindi ka nagquit ga! I'm happy for youuuu at sabi ko nga last time, makakapagturo kanaa, wait nalang natin yon! πŸ’• I'm not good at swimming too until now. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat langga, Hoping for the best results.☺️😌 Parehas lang din naman tayo ga, nakalimutan ko na yata yung tinuro nila sa akin, matagal na din hindi nakaligo sa dagat eh.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can swim naman ga kaso saglit lang hahaha feeling ko lulubog ako. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung feeling na, hindi kaya nang tubig yung bigat ng katawan mo ga..hahahaπŸ˜… ganyan din ako ehh..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€­

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha minsan nga may nagtuturo sakin, pinagalitan ako at sabi kasi "relax lang" pero wala e, ninenerbyos ako ga. HAHAA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, kaya nga ayaw ako turuan ni papa din ga kasi natataranta ako pag palubog na..πŸ€­πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha na stress sila satin ga πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun nga ehh..πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaaa ano name mo sa noisecash pala??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

renren16 din ga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teka puntahan kita don ga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay ga..hihi😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do your best and leave the matter of result to God. He will surely do best for you ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago